Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 7/26/14

I love how my garden grows and fruits in cycles. One week, I may have an abundance of tomatoes, while the next week it’s peppers. Some weeks I lose some fruit to insects or heat-related damage, while other weeks I reap the full available harvest. No matter what, there’s always something to eat – and put up – from my garden. This past week, I harvested 55 ears of Glass Gem corn, over a pound of eggplant, 12.5 pounds of melon, almost 6 pounds of snap beans, 1.3 pounds of chili peppers, and 8.7 pounds of tomatoes. Not only tasty to eat, but pretty to look at!

In all my pictures, the produce is identified from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST JULY 22:

Tam Dew honeydew,

Tam Dew honeydew, jalapenos, red bell pepper, fish peppers, mini red bell peppers, pepperoncini, cayenne, lemon drop peppers, pear tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Rutgers tomatoes, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Amish paste tomatoes. In the center: Black Krim tomatoes

HARVEST JULY 23:

I thought my snap bean plants were done for the season. However, when I pulled up the plants last week, I found almost six pounds of beans on the plants!

Dragon Tongue beans, Beurre de Roquencourt wax beans, Black Valentine green beans. In the center: lemon drop peppers, Black Krim tomato

Dragon Tongue beans, Beurre de Roquencourt wax beans, Black Valentine green beans. In the center: lemon drop peppers, Black Krim tomato

I harvested my first few ears of Glass Gem corn! Isn’t it pretty?

Glass Gem corn

Glass Gem corn

HARVEST JULY 24:

I harvested my first golden midget watermelon. It’s so tiny! As of this writing, it’s in the fridge getting cold.

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes,

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Black Krim tomatoes, Rutgers tomato, pear tomatoes, cayenne peppers, lemon drop peppers, fish peppers, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Amish paste tomato. In the center: Golden midget watermelon

Remember the cantaloupe growing in my compost bin? I harvested the first melon from it. It’s the biggest cantaloupe I have ever seen! It weighed 9.8 pounds!!

9.8 lb cantaloupe!

9.8 lb cantaloupe!

HARVEST JULY 25:

Small harvest day.

Mini red bell peppers, fish peppers, rich sweetness melon, lemon drop peppers, cayenne peppers. In the center: filius blue peppers

Mini red bell peppers, fish peppers, rich sweetness melon, lemon drop peppers, cayenne peppers. In the center: filius blue peppers

HARVEST JULY 26:

I harvested quite a bit of my Glass Gem corn, though not all of it. Come back on Thursday to see pictures of all the different-colored ears.

Glass Gem corn,

Glass Gem corn, Listada de Gandia eggplant, pear tomatoes, Rutgers tomato, Black Krim tomato

What are you harvesting?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

