Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 7/13/14

Despite the continuing intense heat, I’m still harvesting quite a bit. Compared to last year, my pepper harvests are not as big; but I know I’ll be swimming in peppers soon enough (when the heat subsides). This week, I harvested 13 cucumbers, 1 (almost 11 pound) watermelon, 8 pounds of melons (honeydew, cantaloupe, tigger, and rich sweetness), almost 1 pound of lima beans (shelled), 7 pounds of eggplant, almost 2.5 pounds of carrots, a little over 2.5 pounds of peppers, and 9.5 pounds of tomatoes. 

Harvests in the baskets are labeled from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST JULY 7:

Although I picked three honeydew melons, one had to be thrown away. When I was washing it off, I saw that it had been invaded by a pickle worm. (I hate those things!) I will say that this honeydew is THE sweetness honeydew I’ve ever tasted! It’s the first homegrown one I’ve ever had, and I might as well say that I’ve never tasted a honeydew melon at all – until I tasted this.

Tam Dew honeydew melons

Tam Dew honeydew melons

I also harvested my first cantaloupe (though I haven’t tried it yet), along with tomatoes and cucumbers.

Cantaloupe, Boston pickling cucumbers,

Cantaloupe, Boston pickling cucumbers, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Wisconsin tomato, Amish paste tomatoes, pear tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, and Rutgers tomato.

HARVEST JULY 9:

It was a tomato and pepper day. (My mystery hot peppers were from seed given to me a couple of years ago. Although I don’t know what they are, they were good enough for me to save the seed and plant them again.)

Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers,

Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers, mini red bell peppers, Black krim tomato, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Rutgers tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomato, Amish paste tomatoes, pear tomatoes. In the center: cayenne peppers, fish peppers, mystery hot peppers, pepperoncini.

HARVEST JULY 10:

I saw a handful of ripe lemon drop peppers, so I picked them excitedly. I’ve lost several dozen of these peppers over the past couple weeks; they’re falling off the plants while still green. I’m thinking it’s because of the heat. So, I’m cherishing these babies.

Lemon drop peppers

Lemon drop peppers

HARVEST JULY 11:

It takes quite a while to harvest these lima beans each time, but they are more than worth it.

Henderson lima beans

Henderson lima beans

HARVEST JULY 12:

I’ll be pickling eggplant in addition to making kosher dill pickles this week.

Listada de Gandia & Black Beauty eggplant, Scarlet Nantes & Parisienne carrots

Listada de Gandia & Black Beauty eggplant, Scarlet Nantes & Parisienne (round) carrots

While harvesting my chili pepper bed, I saw that a branch on one of my cubanelle pepper plants had broken. Although these peppers aren’t fully mature, they’re at least large enough to eat. So, no waste, thankfully.

Cubanelle peppers

Cubanelle peppers

Nice cucumber and pepper day, too.

Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, cayenne peppers, jalapenos, lemon drop peppers, & fish peppers

Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, cayenne peppers, jalapenos, lemon drop peppers, & fish peppers

HARVEST JULY 13:

I picked my first tigger melons and rich sweetness melon. One of the tigger melons had fallen off the vine, and it was perfectly ripe. I had never tasted one before, and it reminded me of a very sweet cantaloupe. I picked the other two, but they weren’t quite ripe when I tasted one. I haven’t tried the rich sweetness melon yet, so I’m not sure if I picked it too soon or not.

Mini red bell peppers, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, red bell peppers,

Mini red bell peppers, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, red bell peppers, tigger melons, Amish paste tomatoes, Black krim tomato, pear tomatoes, Rutgers tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, rich sweetness melon. In the center: Boston pickling cucumber.

This is my largest white watermelon yet! I had to weigh it on my bathroom scale because it was too big for the food scale.

10.8 lb Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

10.8 lb Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

What have you been harvesting?

Signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

