How My Garden Grows in July ~ Part 1

It’s hard to believe it’s been yet another month of growing and time for me to share how my garden is coming along. I took pictures of each bed and added a link for you to easily see how that bed looked a month ago. My garden is so large, today’s post will cover the pictures of the entire side garden and half the raised beds. Tomorrow, I’ll share pictures of the other half of the raised beds. Be sure to click the links to see the comparisons, too.

I have 21 raised beds in my backyard. Three beds are along my back fence, but the other eighteen are in rows on the side of my house. Here is a picture looking down those eighteen beds. Click here to see how they looked last month. You can see a few changes in crops, as well as the growth of many plants.

My side beds in July

My side beds in July

Here’s a closeup of the raised beds on the far end. (Click here to see them last month.)

My side beds in July ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in July ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Chamomile & Chia

I think this bed gets too much shade for these plants because my chia still hasn’t flowered (though it has grown compared to last month), and my chamomile isn’t growing at all.

Bed 1 in July ~ Chamomile & Chia

Bed 1 in July ~ Chamomile & Chia

BED 2 – Squash, Pumpkin, Cantaloupe, & Red Watermelon

Since last month’s picture, I lost all my white acorn squash and a few butternut squash to the squash vine borer. Thankfully, I still have a couple butternut squash and all my black futsu squash. My cantaloupe, watermelon, and pumpkin are doing well, too. The vines are growing all around the bed and around other beds, too. Because of that, I had to take this picture at a different angle so I wouldn’t step on the vines!

Bed 2 in July ~ Squash, pumpkin, cantaloupe, & red watermelon

Bed 2 in July ~ Squash, pumpkin, cantaloupe, & red watermelon

BED 3 – Chili peppers

I thought my chili peppers weren’t growing much, but looking at the picture from last month, I see they have.

Bed 3 in July ~ Chili peppers

Bed 3 in July ~ Chili peppers

BED 4 – Glass Gem corn

You can see a difference in my corn since last month. It’s taller (about 7 feet tall!), has tassels, and growing ears now.

Bed 4 in July ~ Glass Gem corn

Bed 4 in July ~ Glass Gem corn

BED 5 – Cucumbers

My cucumbers certainly don’t look as good as they did last month. They’re struggling with downy mildew in this intense heat. I’m happy to say that at least they’re still surviving thanks to foliar sprays of aspirin and baking soda.

Bed 5 in July ~ Cucumbers

Bed 5 in July ~ Cucumbers

BED 6 – Paste tomatoes

My tomato plants have grown so much, we had to add more cross beams to keep the stakes upright. Now the plants are growing over the top beams as though it were a trellis. If you click here, you’ll see that the plants are not only taller than they were last month, but you can now see the ripening tomatoes. Also, I’ve had to trim most of the bottom branches because of Septoria Leaf spot. Thankfully, this has helped the plants – along with aspirin water. They’re still fighting it, but it’s more controlled.

Bed 6 in July ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 6 in July ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 7 – Slicing & cherry tomatoes

You can really see the growth in these tomatoes since last month. You can barely see the cross beams because the tomatoes have covered them.

Bed 7 in July ~ Slicing & Cherry tomatoes

Bed 7 in July ~ Slicing & Cherry tomatoes

BED 8 – Melons

I’m happy to say that my melons have now covered my trellis since last month, and the watermelons are growing all around the bed.

Bed 8 in July ~ Melons

Bed 8 in July ~ Melons

BED 9 – Sweet peppers

Since last month, I had to pull the mini yellow stuffing peppers from the front of the bed because they got some disease. The yellow watermelon seems to be taking advantage of the space! You can also see in this picture how my lettuce has bolted and flowered.

Bed 9 in July ~ Sweet peppers

Bed 9 in July ~ Sweet peppers

Click here to see the rest of the pictures of my garden in July.

Signature

Leave a Reply

