Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 6/8/15

Happy Monday, everyone. Remember last week, when I told you that we hadn’t had rain in a couple of weeks? Well, we more than made up for it the middle of this week. My garden got almost five inches of rain in three days! All is well with the garden – except my little lemon drop pepper seedling, which has disappeared. (I think it got washed away!) Now, the humidity has come with a vengeance. We had 92% humidity yesterday (at 7:00 a.m.!), and I couldn’t even work in the garden. So, guess where I am today, making up for it, heat and humidity or not? You got it. Meanwhile, here’s the latest from my Sanctuary Garden.

WHAT’S NEW:

The first day of storms was last Tuesday, and it was a gullywasher! Lightning was everywhere as I drove home from work. Obviously, it was closer to home than I realized. This tree got struck by lightning shortly before I got home. This house is around the corner from mine, about 5 houses away. Thankfully, no one was hurt and no damage was done to their home.

Neighbor's tree struck by lightning

Neighbor’s tree struck by lightning

IN THE GARDEN:

I have my first eggplant growing! (Excuse the blurry photo; I was trying to get a picture under a leaf, and my hand must’ve shaken.)

Edirne Purple Striped eggplant

Edirne Purple Striped eggplant

I found my first Black Hungarian peppers, too.

Black Hungarian chili peppers

Black Hungarian chili pepper

GARDEN BOUNTY:

What a great harvest week! I think the rain hastened the growing. I harvested a handful of peppers, more than a half pound of tomatoes (one huge tomato and a Tiny Tim), almost 2 pounds of cucumbers, almost 4 pounds of snap beans (green and wax), and 2 3/4 pounds of raspberries!

Monday’s harvest: I picked 3/4 pound of raspberries, but I forgot to take a picture!

Tuesday’s harvest:

Boston pickling cucumber, Black Krim tomato, Beit Alpha cucumber

Boston pickling cucumbers, Black Krim tomato, Beit Alpha cucumber

That tomato is the first of the season, and it came from the cutting I took from a Black Krim tomato plant last fall. Here’s a closeup. It weighed over half a pound.

Black Krim tomato from a plant grown from a cutting

Black Krim tomato from a plant grown from a cutting

Wednesday’s harvest:

This is a pound of raspberries.

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

And a few cucumbers.

Boston Pickling cucumbers (top) and Beit Alpha cucumber

Boston Pickling cucumbers (top) & Beit Alpha cucumber

And a few chili peppers.

Filius Blue peppers

Filius Blue peppers

Thursday’s harvest:

While harvesting these beans, I almost got caught in a strong storm. Wind, lightning, and 1.4 inches of rain in less than an hour! I barely made it inside before the sky opened up. I’m sure I left more beans on my plants.

Cubanelle peppers, Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, & Black Valentine green beans

Cubanelle peppers, Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, & Black Valentine green beans

Friday’s harvest:

My first Tiny Tim tomato and some more cucumbers.

Boston Pickling cucumber, Tiny Tim tomato, & Beit Alpha cucumbers

Boston Pickling cucumber, Tiny Tim tomato, & Beit Alpha cucumbers

And yet another pound of raspberries!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

IN THE KITCHEN:

I still have a bunch of radishes in my fridge. Look at these beautiful watermelon radishes I added to my salad this week.

Watermelon radishes

Watermelon radishes

The Black Krim tomato I picked? That didn’t make it into a salad for everyone. I ate that beauty myself. (It’s like a cook getting to taste the meal first. I think gardeners have the same privilege. 😉 ) It was sooo sweet! All I needed was a pinch of salt. It was gone in no time!

Black Krim tomato, ready to eat

Black Krim tomato, ready to eat

The past couple of years, most of my raspberries went into the freezer for making raspberry preserves. This year, I decided I wanted to enjoy most of my raspberries fresh. I put a pound up in the freezer, but the remainder I’ve eaten for breakfast or snack. The other night, I made berry shortcakes with angel food cake, strawberries and raspberries with whipped cream. YUM!

Berry shortcake

Berry shortcake

What’s happening in your garden this week?

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

