2014 Coastal Carolina Fair Canning Competition Submissions

I’m so excited! The 2014 Coastal Carolina Fair starts tomorrow, and I entered some of my canned produce in the competition. This is my second year competing, and I headed to the fairgrounds last Saturday to submit my goodies.

For the first time, I entered my pickles – sliced kosher dill pickles and pickled garlic.

Sliced Kosher Dill Pickles & Pickled Garlic ~ ready for the fair competition

Sliced Kosher Dill Pickles & Pickled Garlic ~ ready for the fair competition

For the second year, I’m entering my hot pepper relish (won 1st place last year), raspberry preserves (won 2nd place last year), and hot pepper jam (won 3rd place last year).

Hot pepper relish, raspberry preserves, & hot pepper jam ~ ready for the fair competition

Hot pepper relish, raspberry preserves, & hot pepper jam ~ ready for the fair competition

And here I am, in front of the Creative Arts building at the fair grounds – canning jars and entry form ready to go and hoping to win more ribbons this year!

Me entering my canned goods in the 2014 canning competition at the fair

Me entering my canned goods in the 2014 canning competition at the fair

To see what I submitted for the herb and vegetable competitions, click here.

If you missed the judging results, click here. To be sure you don’t miss any more gardening news, just sign up on the right to receive new posts via email.

Are you entering canned goods in your county fair this year?

Signature

2 comments on “2014 Coastal Carolina Fair Canning Competition Submissions

    • Thank you! I learned how to can last year, and I entered 4 of my jars in the competition, not expecting to win. I won 5 ribbons! I was shocked! It was great encouragement to keep learning and doing – and enter again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

