Winter Storm Leon Visits Charleston, SC

It’s been a cold and icy three days here in the Charleston, SC area. Winter Storm Leon arrived on the afternoon of January 28, and my homestead stayed below freezing until the late afternoon of January 30 (yesterday). We didn’t get the snow the forecast predicted (just a dusting instead of 2-4 inches), but we got the ice storm they expected. I stayed up late into the night to get pictures of the storm’s progression, then took lots of pictures in the morning.

Winter Storm Leon arrived with cold rain the afternoon of January 28. It was 34 degrees, and the temperature was dropping.

Winter Storm Leon arrives ~ January 28 ~ 3:30 p.m.

Winter Storm Leon arrives ~ January 28 ~ 3:30 p.m.

Throughout the night, I took pictures to show the progression of the ice storm. Here’s a slide show of my back patio at various times through the night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After midnight, icicles began forming.

Winter Storm Leon - icicles begin forming on my urn - January 29 - 12:02 a.m. - 31 degrees

Winter Storm Leon – icicles begin forming on my urn – January 29 – 12:02 a.m. – 31 degrees

At 1:00 in the morning, the sleety-snow mixture began.

Winter Storm Leon - sleet & snow on my patio - January 29 - 1:00 a.m. - 30 degrees

Winter Storm Leon – sleet & snow on my patio – January 29 – 1:00 a.m. – 30 degrees

I went to bed after 1:00 and got up at 6:00 to get another picture for the slide show above. I slept another couple hours and was outside at 8:30 a.m. (in 27 degree weather), taking pictures of my homestead…now my beautiful Ice Palace!

Winter Storm Leon -  ice laden bushes on the side of my house

Winter Storm Leon – ice laden bushes on the side of my house

Winter Storm Leon ~ fruit trees in my front yard

Winter Storm Leon ~ fruit trees in my front yard

Winter Storm Leon ~ my car is a frozen gumdrop!

Winter Storm Leon ~ my car is a frozen gumdrop!

Winter Storm Leon ~ snowy table set dripping with icicles

Winter Storm Leon ~ snowy garden table set dripping with icicles

Winter Storm Leon ~ icy garden pots

Winter Storm Leon ~ icy garden pots

Winter Storm Leon ~ my bird feeder, crowned with icicles

Winter Storm Leon ~ my bird feeder, crowned with icicles

The temperature didn’t rise above freezing all that day. In fact, it reached 33 degrees for the first time late yesterday afternoon. Here are pictures I took yesterday when it was still 31 degrees.

Winter Storm Leon ~ the day after ~ icicles still on my shed

Winter Storm Leon ~ the day after ~ icicles still on my shed

Winter Storm Leon ~ the day after ~ icicles on my buckets

Winter Storm Leon ~ the day after ~ icicles on my buckets

I’ve lived in the Charleston, SC area for 19 years, and this is the first ice storm I’ve ever experienced here. (I had my share when I lived in Rhode Island, of course.) This storm shut the city down for two days. Yep, a pretty big deal around here.

Come back Monday for my Sanctuary Gardener Update in which I will share post-storm pictures of my garden and how it fared.

Did Winter Storm Leon visit you? How did your homestead fare? Comment below.

Signature

Leave a Reply

