Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 6/10/13

I’m happy to say that all my plants survived the rain last week. The hydrangeas actually loved it. (See picture above.) I cleaned up all the dead branches that fell in the yard and saved them for kindling in the fire pit. Quite a few of my pepper plants had to be staked. I trimmed my paste tomatoes, though I need to prune them some more. I also had to tie most of my tomatoes again because they’ve grown so much. This will be the last time though because they are now taller than the stakes – and me! I have some new fruit growing and fruit progressing towards harvest.

FLOWERING:

I planted some coleus from seed, transplanted them into cups, but still haven’t put them into the yard. (That’s one of this week’s duties.) One of them started flowering this week. I’ve never seen a coleus flower before.

Coleus flower

Coleus flower

My cilantro has bolted (doesn’t take long), so I’m letting it go to seed for coriander.

Cilantro flowering to become coriander seed

Cilantro flowering to become coriander seed

The red creole onions I left to go to seed have now formed seed pods.

Red creole onion seed pods forming

Red creole onion seed pods forming

The bed of Henderson lima beans are green and full of flowers.

Bed full of flowering Henderson lima beans

Bed full of flowering Henderson lima beans

FRUITING:

Soon, I’m going to have tomatoes coming out my ears once they turn red! And I have my first one blushing.

Mortgage Lifter tomato turning red

Mortgage Lifter tomato turning red

Finally, my jalapenos and fish peppers have fruit.

Jalapenos

Jalapenos

I love the stripe on the fish peppers!

Fish pepper

Fish pepper

I have my first melon growing! A white watermelon flower got fertilized and is bigger than a golf ball.

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

Friday, I found my first eggplant on the Black Beauty.

Black Beauty eggplant

Black Beauty eggplant

I planted two tomatillos but have fruit on only one. Both have flowers in abundance though, so I’m expecting more as the bees visit on a more regular basis. Take a look at one of the tomatillo fruit. It’s amazing!

Tomatillo

Tomatillo

Yesterday, I found a couple of lima bean pods. Yeah!

Henderson lima bean pods

Henderson lima bean pods

GROWING:

During the winter, I planted six Listada de Gandia eggplant seeds. Two actually germinated. I lost one during transplantation in the spring. The one survivor stayed alive, but it never grew. Yet, it didn’t die. Now that it’s much warmer (in the mid-80s on a regular basis) and following a good feeding, it’s finally starting to grow! Got to love this plant’s will to live.

Listada de Gandia eggplant

Listada de Gandia eggplant

Several weeks ago, I sowed red romaine lettuce. It took so long to germinate (soil too warm?) I had given up on it growing. However, about half of what I sowed has germinated and is growing.

Red romaine lettuce ~ growing in June

Red romaine lettuce ~ growing in June

My raspberries are just starting to turn red, my strawberries are still producing, and I’m now harvesting cucumbers, green snap beans, wax beans, and green peppers. I love my garden this time of year! Now, if I can just keep warding off the bugs.

~~~~~

What’s growing in your garden?

3 comments on “Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 6/10/13

    • Wow! No wonder you have little room – and little time! – for a garden! I do love growing my own food, but it does take a lot of time, squeezing it in after work and on weekends. But the rewards are worth it!

      And what you’re doing with rescued dogs and cats is a wonderful use of your time. Personally, I couldn’t do it. I admire you!

  1. Pingback: June 10th, Day 161: Polka Dots | Abra Alani

Leave a Reply

