Garden Bounty ~ 6/9/13

We received a lot of rain this past week, but not as much as we could have. Thankfully, Tropical Storm Andrea didn’t bring us as much rainfall as predicted. Yet, the rain we did get seemed to spur the harvest. Last night, I entertained family and my entire meal was provided by two weeks of harvests from my garden (except the meat, of course). I was pretty proud of that!

I am growing Heritage everbearing raspberries, and the spring crop is just starting to ripen. Here’s a picture of the first handful harvested. Ruby gems of goodness!

Heritage everbearing raspberries

Heritage everbearing raspberries

I started harvesting cucumbers this week, too.

Green cucumbers (on ends) and pickling cucumbers (middle)

Green cucumbers (on ends) and pickling cucumbers (middle)

I harvested those cucumbers in the morning. Later in the afternoon, I picked more, along with a zucchini and squash.

Zucchini, yellow squash, pickling cucumbers

Zucchini, yellow squash, pickling cucumbers

My green bell pepper plants are loaded with fruit! After harvesting, I still have a dozen more almost ready for harvest. I also picked green snap beans and wax beans that filled two gallon-sized baggies! And, a couple more cucumbers.

Green bell peppers, green snap beans, wax beans, pickling cucumbers

Green bell peppers, green snap beans, wax beans, pickling cucumbers

I made an Italian Bean Salad from some of the beans (using my own garlic, too). The rest I’m going to pickle! So, of course, I need dill. Out to the herb garden I went.

Dill

Dill

Although I didn’t harvest my Texas Granex onions this past week, they were dry enough to clean and trim.I brushed off the dirt (sometimes peeling off the top layer of onion skin), cut the stalks off about an inch or two above the bulb, and trimmed the roots.

Cleaning onions

Cleaning onions

And now I have a basket full of clean onions, ready to be stored in a mesh bag.

Texas Granex onions

Texas Granex onions

What bounty did your garden provide you this week?

6 comments on “Garden Bounty ~ 6/9/13

  1. I have had asparagus which has run out. Snap beans which were way too stringy:-( Strawberries to fill two gallon bags! Rutabagas are ready and white icicle radishes taste great..lettuce for several family members. Blueberries will be ready soon. Two pears on the new tree. Squashes are coming out…. I’m envious of your cucumbers already! And I thought I planted early. Soon though. They are blooming. Have a great day from here in Brandon!

    • Sounds yummy! I planted a little late this year myself – first week of April rather than third week of March. Late frosts made me leery of planting at the last frost date. I’m still harvesting kale and planted lettuce at the spring planting (which is still growing) – unusual in this South Carolina heat. My squash are slow – problems with fertilization? Not sure. We have bees galore! Come back tomorrow for my weekly update and see what’s going on in the garden. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

