Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 3/2/15

Well, it’s finally March. Only three more weeks til spring – at least, on the calendar, right? I know the Northeast is still buried under snow, Virginia just received almost a foot of snow, the midwest is always under snow, and the South is still having below-freezing nights. I’m sure all of you are anticipating spring as much as I am…maybe more so! That said, the weather this week has been chilly, raw, and rainy. Unfortunately, the weather didn’t cooperate with my days off (from work), so I don’t have as many photos to share with you this week. Hope you enjoy the few I do have though.

WHAT’S NEW:

I have three Tiny Tim tomato seedlings now, two of them just popping through the soil. These are from the second planting I did.

Tiny Tim tomato seedlings

Tiny Tim tomato seedlings

I reordered some seed, and I hope to replant other tomatoes, peppers, and squash tonight. (Necessary because of damping off and no seed germination. Going to start again for those.)

IN THE GROW ROOM:

What seedlings have germinated are doing well. Here are my pretty eggplant – three varieties.

Eggplant seedlings

Eggplant seedlings

My red watermelon seedlings are very pretty.

Watermelon seedlings

Watermelon seedlings

IN THE GARDEN:

My Tom Thumb peas are doing well, both along my walkway and in my pots.

Tiny Tim peas

Tom Thumb peas

I know, technically, this isn’t “in the garden,” but it will be as soon as the weather is warm enough. This is my Black Krim tomato cutting that I transplanted. It’s now three feet tall! Yesterday, I found flower buds at the top of the plant. My other buds were smaller and shriveled up instead of opening. I hope these open up into flowers.

Black Krim tomato cutting transplant - buds

Black Krim tomato cutting transplant – buds

GARDEN BOUNTY:

I harvested a head of lettuce this week, and it made enough salad for all of us. I just love this lettuce!

Reine des Glaces lettuce

Reine des Glaces lettuce

What’s happening on your homestead this week?

Signature

Leave a Reply

