A New Kind of Bee Hive!

DCIM105GOPRO A week or so ago, I came across an IndieGogo project that got me very excited. After ten years of experimentation, a father and son team in Australia has developed a new kind of bee hive and are fundraising to start manufacturing it. It’s called a Flow Hive, and it is amazing! Unlike with typical hives, gathering honey from a Flow Hive is not a major project. In fact, you don’t even have to open the hive to gather the honey. The honey flows out into jars while the bees remain safely in the hive! No smoking and sedating the bees, no donning masks and suits, no disturbing the hive, no pulling frames, no uncapping the combs or filtering the honey. Just pure honey poured straight into jars! Watch this video to see how it works: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbMV9qYIXqM Isn’t that awesome? Their intention was to raise $70,000 in six weeks, and after nine days they’ve raised just shy of $4.5 million!!! I think this will revolutionize bee keeping. So many people (myself included) are intimidated by keeping bees. I certainly want nothing to do with opening a hive and pulling frames while bees are buzzing around my head! However, this kind of hive eliminates all that, making bee-keeping easier and less scary. That means, more people will be willing to do it. And we all agree we need more bees. Another positive is that you don’t have to order a new hive if you already have one (or more). Their company will also make the flow technology “inserts” for your current hive, so you can get your honey poured straight from your hive into jars, too. Now…want even more good news? They’re currently discussing having an additional factory here in the United States to ship their products to us Americans without overseas shipping costs. This innovative bee hive technology is so exciting that I had to share it with my readers. For more information, or to give to their campaign (which ends April 5, 2015), see their Indiegogo site. You can also visit their website and enter your email address to receive the latest news and updates from them. If you decide to order their flow technology for your beehive – or decide to start beekeeping with one of their flow hives – let me know! The world will be a better place with more beekeepers. And making honey gathering easier is pretty sweet, too. Signature

8 comments on “A New Kind of Bee Hive!

  1. I have bees and WANT WANT WANT some of these!! I am drooling just watching the video!

    YES, checking, harvesting etc is lots of hard work, but also very stressful on the bees and creates a ton of work for them everytime I open the hive. This reduces work and increases productivity!

    Did I say I want one, or ten?

    • Hi, Joy! I always try to respond to comments within a day or so of getting them. If I’ve ever not replied to one of your comments, I do apologize. Maybe I somehow missed it??

      I hope you’ll comment again any time.
      Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

