How My Garden Grows in June ~ Part 1

It’s hard to believe a month has gone by since I last showed you my garden pictures. But what’s really “shocking” is how much the garden has grown in four weeks’ time! You know the saying, “You can’t see the forest for the trees”? Well, I think that applies here because I knew my garden was growing; I just didn’t realize how MUCH it had grown until I compared the recent pictures with last months’ pictures. It makes this gardener all giggly. 🙂 Be sure to click the links I added so you can compare these pictures to last month’s pictures, as well.

As you all know, I have 21 raised beds. Today I will share with you the pictures of the 18 bed-garden in my side yard (the other 3 are in the back yard) along with the pictures of individual beds 1-9. Tomorrow, I will share pictures of the rest of my raised beds.

Here’s a shot from my backyard, looking down all the 18 beds. You can see the garlic is now gone (harvested), and the onions are getting ready for harvest. Click here to see what it looked like in May.

My side beds June 15, 2014

My side beds

Click here to see the closeup picture (below) in May.

My side beds ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Chamomile & Chia

My chamomile is still so close to the ground you can’t see it in the picture. I discovered that I had clumps of plants growing together, which may be why they haven’t grown much. I think the rain we got right after I planted washed all the seeds together. This past weekend, I thinned the chamomile and transplanted; so far so good. The chia, however, has grown quite a bit since last month.

Bed 1 in June ~ Chamomile & Chia

Bed 1 in June ~ Chamomile & Chia

BED 2 – Squash, Pumpkin, Cantaloupe, & Red Watermelon

During the past month, I pulled the radishes, leaving the center of the bed more open. The watermelon and cantaloupe (bottom of the picture) have grown, and I have two cantaloupes growing so far. At the top left of the picture is my pumpkin vine, which is growing down past the pepper bed (behind this bed) and around the corner towards the corn! You’ll also notice that the acorn squash vines are dead…thanks to the ugly squash vine borer. 😦  Click here to see the bed in May.

Bed 2 in June ~ Squash, pumpkin, cantaloupe, watermelon

Bed 2 in June ~ Squash, pumpkin, cantaloupe, & red watermelon

BED 3 ~ Chili peppers

My pepper plants may not look very tall, but the fruit is quite large – larger than last year. (Could it be the Azomite rock dust I added to the soil??) To the left of the bed, you can see the pumpkin vine, which was absent in last month’s picture.

Bed 3 in June ~ Chili peppers

Bed 3 in June ~ Chili peppers

BED 4 – Glass Gem corn

I think this is one of the beds with the most change. Last month, the corn was a little over knee high. Now, it’s taller than me, with tassels and even a few beginning ears with silks!

Bed 4 in June ~ Glass Gem corn

Bed 4 in June ~ Glass Gem corn

BED 5 – Cucumbers

I pulled the radishes that were planted on the ends and edges of this bed, so now there are just cucumbers – which have reached the top of the trellis. Click here to see them in May.

Bed 5 in June ~ Cucumbers

Bed 5 in June ~ Cucumbers

BED 6 – Paste tomatoes

My paste tomato plants are definitely taller than I am now. (Okay, so that’s not saying much, considering I’m an Italian girl, but the picture at least speaks for itself.) Click here to see them in May.

Bed 6 in June ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 6 in June ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 7 – Slicing & Cherry tomatoes

I think these tomatoes are even taller than the paste tomatoes; they’re growing above the stakes! Click here to see them in May.

Bed 7 in June ~ Slicing & Cherry tomatoes

Bed 7 in June ~ Slicing & Cherry tomatoes

BED 8 ~ Melons

I pulled the radishes I had planted on the edges of this bed, so it’s all melons now. I had to take the picture from a different angle than last month because of the vines growing everywhere. On the left end of the bed, you can see the white watermelon vine (which reaches past the pepper bed, as you’ll see next) – and I have a couple of watermelons growing. On the right end of the bed is the honeydew, and there are four melons growing so far, three of which you can see in the picture. The melons on the front side of the trellis are finally growing well, but the melons on the back side are barely growing at all. I’m thinking of replanting those. (I have two kinds of melons on each side for a total of four.)

Bed 8 in June ~ Melons

Bed 8 in June ~ Melons

BED 9 – Sweet peppers

I have already picked several pounds of peppers from these babies! Unfortunately, a few of the plants towards the front – the mini yellow stuffing peppers and one of the mini red bell peppers – are stunted; I think they have a virus or something because even the fruit is full of brown spots. I probably should pull them to be sure whatever it is doesn’t spread. Click here to see the peppers in May.

Bed 9 in June ~ Sweet peppers

Bed 9 in June ~ Sweet peppers

For the rest of my garden pictures, click here!

It’s definitely summer in my garden. 🙂

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

