2013 Coastal Carolina Fair

I have always loved going to the fair. The state fair in Rhode Island (where I grew up) used to be held a few miles from my home and I enjoyed the animals, the 4-H displays, and the competitions. Granted, it was a very small fair compared to most (consider the size of the state!), but it was never short on fun. When I moved to the Charleston, SC area, I couldn’t wait to attend the local tri-county fair. Needless to say, I was amazed that this county fair was at least double the size of Rhode Island’s state fair! Of course, I was hooked – and it became an annual tradition for me and my son. Attending this year held even more meaning for me; not just as a gardener, but also as a competitor. (See my post on the canning competition results.) And, now that my son is back home, it was the first time he and I attended together in five years. 

Of course, when I arrived at the fair, the first place I went was the Creative Arts building to see if I had won any ribbons. After doing the happy dance over my prizes, I then went to see the flower arrangements.

Flower arrangement 2 SG

There was a great display of vertical gardening using pallets.

Vertical gardening SG

The entire fair grounds were decorated in an autumn theme.

Pumpkin scarecrow SG

After looking at the flowers, the quilts, and the photographs, we meandered down to the agricultural center. Look at these old tractors.

Old tractor SG

John Deere tractor SG

Every year, a local bee farm brings a portion of one of their hives to display at the fair. (I also get a year’s worth of tupelo honey from them. Best honey in the world!)

Bees SG

And no visit to the fair is complete without looking at all the farm animals. These chickens are beautiful!

Chicken 1 SG

Chicken 2 SG

There’s no question who watches over this flock of goats.

Goats closeup SG

I wonder if this turkey knows Thanksgiving Day is just around the corner?

turkeys SG

I love looking at the cows. My favorite are the Jerseys with their huge brown eyes. I didn’t find any there this year, but these cows were still pretty.

cows SG

Towards the back of the agricultural building is the section for hatching quail and ducks. I caught the quail wanting to eat.

Quail SG

These ducklings are just begging to be snuggled!

Ducklings SG

Although I don’t like rides, our fair does have a large midway – which makes for great pictures at night.

Sky ride at sunset SG

Ferris Wheels 1 closeup SG

And my fair photo album would not be complete without a picture of me as a country girl. 🙂

Me at fair 3 SG

What do you like most at your county fair?

Signature

Leave a Reply

