Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 8/5/13

During this past week, we had quite a bit of rain. In fact, one evening, my back yard received 4.5 inches of rain in three hours!! Thankfully, unlike neighborhoods a mile or so away from me, my yard – and raised beds – did not flood and the puddles drained quickly. There was no damage to my garden either, other than a couple of tomato plants (and stakes) falling over from the soggy soil. Despite the mini monsoon, I was still able to do a few things in the garden, including applying organic fertilizer to what’s still growing. Although my garden is in between planting seasons, there still some things going on.

WHAT’S NEW:

I started filling my new raised beds with soil. The plan was to fill them half with my compost and half with soil I had piled in my yard (soil removed from other projects). I was concerned about the soil from the yard as it was not very good when I put it into that pile. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that leaves that had fallen on it had composted, and it was actually fairly loamy. Also, it was full of worms! Between that soil, my compost, and a little organic fertilizer and compost tea, I think my fall planting will have great soil to grow in.

Filling my new raised beds

Filling my new raised beds

Last year, when I planted moonflowers, I had a fence full of vines and beautiful blossoms by the end of June. This year, my vines are just starting to climb the fence at the end of July. Maybe all the rain we’ve had has hindered their growth? Well, just when I was about to give up hope, I found the beginning of the first buds on my moonflowers!

Moonflower buds starting

Moonflower buds starting

In the spring, I transplanted my Peruvian lemon drop peppers in large pots, but I noticed this week that they weren’t doing well. The leaves were turning yellow and falling off. Actually, they were looking sick. Upon close inspection, I noticed that the roots were pushing through the surface of the dirt. Talk about root bound!! So, I transplanted them into the bed where my eggplants are (which are starting to blossom, finally).

Lemon drop pepper ~ now with room to breathe

Lemon drop pepper ~ now with room to breathe

Last week, I posted a picture of a new red watermelon growing on my fence. Well, while fertilizing my garden this week, I found four more growing! Here’s a couple of them.

Red watermelons growing

Red watermelons growing

HARVESTS:

Here’s a sample of this week’s harvests – lots of peppers! I’ve dehydrated two batches this week alone.

Harvest ~ July 28

Harvest ~ July 28

HARVESTS TO COME:

Okay, it’s not a fruit harvest, but my icicle radish pods are almost ready to pick – for the seeds! Just in time for the fall planting.

Icicle radish pods

Icicle radish pods

And look at all the hot peppers I’ve got coming. (Sweet peppers, too, but I didn’t take pictures of those.)

Pepperoncini

Pepperoncini

Fish peppers

Fish peppers

Rocoto peppers

Rocoto peppers

And take a look at my fig tree. This is just one little section of this five-foot tree, which is LOADED with figs soon to ripen! And every day, I see more coming.

Figs

Figs

What’s happening in your garden?

One comment on “Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 8/5/13

Leave a Reply

