Flowers in the Garden ~ Legumes & Brassicas

Flowers in the Garden Legumes & Brassicas pic

Welcome to part three of my series on Flowers in the Garden. Today’s pictures will compare the similarities in the flowers within the Legume family as well as flowers in the Brassica family.

LEGUMES

The legume family includes all kinds of beans (snap, dried, shell, limas), peas, and peanuts. Although I don’t yet have pictures of peanut flowers (I’ll be planting peanuts for the first time after I harvest my potatoes), I do have pictures of bean and pea flowers from my garden.

BEANS:

Bean flowers are very small and ruffled. The varieties I’ve grown had purple or white flowers.

Black Valentine snap bean flowers

Black Valentine snap bean flowers

Lima bean flowers are similar in shape and size to snap bean flowers, but the color of this variety is white.

Henderson Lima bean flowers

Henderson Lima bean flowers

PEAS:

Peas have colorful flowers. They are similar to the ornamental sweet pea flower (which does not produce fruit to eat). The center of the pea flower is similar to a bean flower, but the pea flower has an additional petal that looks like a hood or halo.

Snow pea flowers

Snow pea flowers

Here’s a closeup picture of one of the pea flowers.

Snow pea flower close up

Snow pea flower close up

Lots of yumminess from beautiful flowers!

BRASSICAS

The Brassica family includes cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, kale, turnips, radishes, and watercress.

I don’t like to let my brassicas bolt (flower), but sometimes they get away from me! I guess that’s not all bad as I now have some pictures to show you.

BRASSICA GREENS:

I’ve never seen my kale bolt, probably because I harvest it and eat it so quickly. But I’ve had arugula and watercress flower.

The arugula flower is off-white (with a pink tint?) and has four distinct petals.

Arugula flower

Arugula flower

The watercress flower is also off-white, with an almost blue tint. There are four petals, but they are rounded and much smaller than that of the arugula. The buds look a lot like broccoli florets, don’t they?

Watercress flower

Watercress flower

RADISHES:

All radish flowers start similarly to watercress – with buds that look like broccoli florets. However, the flower more closely resembles the arugula flower with four distinct petals.

The petals of the icicle radish flower are off-white with a lavender rim.

Icicle radish flower

Icicle radish flower

The petals of the daikon radish flower are off-white.

Daikon radish flowers

Daikon radish flowers

The watermelon radish flower is off-white with a pink tint.

Watermelon radish flower

Watermelon radish flower

I knew the flowers of these families were similar, but it’s much more noticeable when you see the pictures next to each other, don’t you think?

MORE FLOWERS IN THE GARDEN ARTICLES

Enjoy!

Signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

