Garden Bounty ~ 7/9/13

Even though we’ve been inundated with rain the past couple of weeks, I’m harvesting oodles of tomatoes and peppers, cucumbers and raspberries. I had so many peppers of different kinds and colors, I made a pepper centerpiece out of them for the picture above.

Here’s an example of a daily harvest this week.

Harvest on July 2

Harvest on July 2

As you can see – lots of tomatoes! Because of the bugs and the humidity, I pick my tomatoes when they’re orange and let them finish ripening on the island counter in front of my window. I filled the counter up and had to make crushed tomatoes for sauce again.

This many tomatoes….

Tomato harvest on my counter July 2

Tomato harvest on my counter July 2

…made this many quarts of crushed tomatoes for sauce.

Crushed tomatoes ready for sauce making

Crushed tomatoes ready for sauce making

And within five days, my counter looked like this again.

Tomatoes on my counter July 7

Tomatoes on my counter July 7

Here’s one of my largest paste tomatoes, an heirloom called Amish Paste:

Amish Paste tomato

Amish Paste tomato

Not only will I be crushing tomatoes again this week, I have several great tomatoes for slicing and eating with mozzarella cheese and basil, drizzled with balsamic vinegar. My favorite snack!

Black Krim tomatoes

Black Krim tomatoes

My first tomatillos were ready to harvest this week. Unfortunately, of the ones I picked, only one didn’t have signs of worm invasion. 😦

Tomatillos

Tomatillos

I harvested my first mini red bell peppers (and yellow bells). They are so sweet!

Mini red bell peppers

Mini red bell peppers

I picked this funny looking green bell pepper.

Funny looking green bell pepper

Funny looking green bell pepper

I received free seeds for what was supposed to be “mini red heart” sweet peppers. These are NOT sweet peppers, but hot peppers. Anyone know what these are? Or are they a hybrid? Whatever they are, they have wonderful flavor.

Mystery hot pepper

Mystery hot pepper

I harvested a lemon drop melon because the bugs were starting to burrow into it. It wasn’t quite ripe enough, but I was still able to remove the affected parts and eat it anyway. It’s pale green inside and tastes like a honeydew with a lemon after-taste. When not quite ripe (as this one was), it’s a little more bitter.

Lemon drop melon sliced

Lemon drop melon sliced

My raspberries are ripening almost faster than I can harvest them. This has been my daily harvest for two weeks now. Almost time for raspberry preserve making!

Raspberry harvest July 1

Raspberry harvest July 1

What are you harvesting in your garden?

Leave a Reply

