Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 12/15/15

Good morning, everyone! Last week was a busy week for me. We celebrated Hanukkah each night, which was a great respite after my busy days. Our office is being renovated, so we had to get a lot of work done in a shortened period of time AND had to pack up the entire office by Friday. Today, our computers will be disconnected, and I will be working from home – or, on vacation time – for the next three weeks! Sa-weet!!!!!! That said, let me share a bit of the homestead happenings over the past week.

HANUKKAH CELEBRATIONS:

I love latkes (potato fritters), but I didn’t have time to make my own this year. Manischewitz to the rescue, however! And this year, I found a new variety – garlic and rosemary. Oh my goodness, were they good!! I served them with hamburgers and fried onions, and a big salad. YUM!

Latkes go with everything!

Latkes go with everything!

On the last night of Hanukkah, I lit my hanukkiah (menorrah) on my stove – so I could see it from the living room. I love looking at the lights. And by the way, this photo was not edited. The circles around the flames were in the original photo!

My Hanukkiah on the 8th night

My Hanukkiah on the 8th night

A couple weeks ago, my beau attended an auction I couldn’t go to; and he acquired an old framed print that I had seen in the auction’s online catalog. I had told him that I really liked the print, then forgot about it. He didn’t. He bid on it and gave it to me for a Hanukkah gift. I need to have it reframed, but I just love this print. (Sorry about the photo quality – it’s difficult taking a photo of artwork.) Isn’t it such a calming print?

My Hanukkah gift

My Hanukkah gift

AROUND THE HOMESTEAD:

I love flowers. And I enjoy taking cut flowers and making arrangements out of them. My beau brought me a few packages of cut flowers that Trader Joe’s was giving away because some of the flowers were wilted. I took what was left (the majority of them) and made three vases of flowers to enjoy around my house.

These are on the island in front of my kitchen window. I had to move them to the stove to get a good picture. (The light from the window in the background was too much.)

Flowers in my kitchen

Flowers in my kitchen

This vase is currently the centerpiece on my dining room table.

Flowers in my dining room

Flowers in my dining room

I love the look of red roses and evergreens. This vase is in my bedroom. I set it on my vanity/desk. (You can see my vintage milk glass lamp in the background.)

Flowers in my bedroom

Flowers in my bedroom

Nothing warms up the winter better than flowers, eh?

OUT IN THE GARDEN:

Yesterday, the wind started kicking up. We’ve been having close to 80 degree weather all week, and a cold front is supposed to come through in a couple of days. The wind was gusting to about 20 mph – not much – but it blew my greenhouse in and vertically split one of the upright poles!

Greenhouse blown in!

Greenhouse blown in!

I think that gust was more than 20 mph because it pulled the anchors across the patio!

Anchors pulled by the wind

Anchors pulled by the wind

My Nauti-Garden Wilson (check out the boat shoes!) and I quickly uprighted my key lime trees and pulled the greenhouse back into place. He grabbed the last of my “free” anchors and tied an additional line to the greenhouse. Then we literally pushed (anchored) the anchors into the ground to keep the greenhouse upright.

Greenhouse re-anchored

Greenhouse re-anchored

Let’s hope this holds! I’m going to be using this for my seed starts soon.

What’s been happening on your homestead this week?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

