Sweet Potato Tzimmes

Sweet Potato Tzimmes SGGood morning, everyone. As promised, today I’m sharing with you the recipe for Sweet Potato Tzimmes. Typically served on the Jewish holiday of Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles – the original Thanksgiving), this dish can be served at any time. Great for traditional Thanksgiving dinner, Hanukkah, or any other fall meal, this is a dish that can be served hot as a side dish or even at room temperature as a not-too-sweet dessert. And, it can be made ahead of time!

SWEET POTATO TZIMMES

Note: The original recipe is not my own; I just took the recipe and tweaked it here and there. To be honest, I can’t remember who to give credit to because I copied this recipe out of a Jewish cookbook I found in a library in Virginia over 25 years ago! If anyone recognizes the original author of this recipe, please comment below; and I will give proper credit.

  • 4 sweet potatoes OR 1 (40 oz) can of yams
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 10 oz crushed pineapple (1/2 can), undrained
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. If using raw sweet potatoes, boil them in the skins until cooked. Peel them and mash with butter. If using the canned yams, drain the syrup/liquid. Melt the butter before mashing the yams with it (because the yams won’t be hot and the butter won’t melt on its own). For a real quick side dish, the canned yams are great.
  3. Fold in the pineapple (with juice), salt, and brown sugar. Stir together well.
  4. Grease a medium-sized casserole dish and spoon mixture into it. Bake, uncovered, for 25 minutes.

Serves 6-8

When serving, sprinkle some cinnamon or nutmeg on top for an added treat.

This is one of my favorite side dishes to make. Neither my son nor my beau like sweet potatoes, but they both like this dish. I’m sure your family will, too. Let me know how you like it.

Enjoy!

Signature

Leave a Reply

