How My Garden Grows in August 2015 ~ Part 2

Good morning, Garden Buddies. Welcome to part 2 of the August installment of How My Garden Grows. (If you missed part 1, click here to see photos of the first half of my garden.) Today, I’ll share photos of the rest of my raised beds. Don’t forget to click the links to see they looked last month. (Aahh….memories.)

BED 10 – Sweet peppers

With the heat and lack of rain (we did get some rain yesterday though!), my peppers are looking pretty sad. Even worse than last month. Not to mention that the only pepper plants producing anything are my mini yellow stuffing peppers (in the front).

Bed 10 in August 2015 ~ Sweet peppers

Bed 10 in August 2015 ~ Sweet peppers

BED 11 – Okra & chili peppers

My okra is taller than it was last month, but definitely more spindly. The fish peppers in the front of the bed are the healthiest peppers in the garden (which isn’t saying much this year). I think it’s because they get a bit of shade in the late afternoon.

Bed 11 in August 2015 ~ Okra & chili peppers

Bed 11 in August 2015 ~ Okra & chili peppers

BED 12 – Chard & slicing tomatoes

Last month, I had such hopes for my tomato plants. Not anymore. They look barely alive now! And my chard is quite parched and heat- stressed, too. 😦

Bed 12 in August 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

Bed 12 in August 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

BED 12x – Fallow & perpetual spinach

I thought my perpetual spinach didn’t look good last month. Boy, it was pretty lush in comparison to this month!

Bed 12x in August 2015 ~ Fallow & perpetual spinach

Bed 12x in August 2015 ~ Fallow & perpetual spinach

BED 13 – Raspberries

Raspberries do not like intense heat, as this picture attests. You could see in last month’s picture how the heat was starting to get to them. They look even worse now. It’s obvious that I’ll be getting no fall crop of raspberries this year. But hey, most people around here are surprised I can even grow them in Charleston.

Bed 13 in August 2015 ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in August 2015 ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

Other than more weed growth, there’s not much difference in my asparagus since last month. It’s the one thing in my garden that actually looks pretty good.

Bed 14 in August 2015 ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in August 2015 ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Paste tomatoes

Compared to last month, my tomatoes are on life support. Heat, lack of rain. Going out of town for a bit didn’t help either. You can see some overripe fruit still hanging from the vine. They’ll fall off eventually.

Bed 15 in August 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 15 in August 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 16 – Slicing & cherry tomatoes

These tomatoes aren’t any better. They weren’t ever very lush, but at least last month they were green and fruiting.

Bed 16 in August 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 16 in August 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

BED 17 – Eggplant

Last month, I was complaining that my eggplant looked rather scrawny compared to what they should look like by mid-summer. Now? I’d take that over this. They’re pathetic! Eggplant love heat, right? Not this year.

Bed 17 in August 2015 ~ Eggplant

Bed 17 in August 2015 ~ Eggplant

BED 18 – Chili peppers

My chili peppers look a bit more worse for wear since last month, but most of them are at least producing something.

Bed 18 in August 2015 ~ Chili peppers

Bed 18 in August 2015 ~ Chili peppers

BED 19 – Butter peas & fallow

My butter peas don’t look as lush as they did last month, but I did harvest a good bit from these plants last weekend. I’m hoping to get more beans out of them before frost.

Bed 19 in August 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

Bed 19 in August 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

BED 20 – Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

The tomatoes definitely look worse this month than last month, but the chili peppers don’t look too bad. (Okay, I’m trying to find the bright side.) The Filius Blue peppers look pretty good, though. (They’re the small ones on the left side of the picture.)

Bed 20 in August 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 20 in August 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Again, if you missed the first half of my garden pictures, please see How My Garden Grows in August Part 1. At the end of the year, I’ll present a slide show of my garden through the seasons.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

Leave a Reply

