How My Garden Grows in July 2015 ~ Part 2

Good morning, everyone. Welcome to part 2 of the July installment of “How My Garden Grows.” I already shared pictures of my entire garden and raised beds 1-9. (If you missed it, click here for Part 1.) I was bemoaning my sorry-looking garden, but one of my online garden buddies commented and encouraged me that it wasn’t as much gardener issues, but truly weather issues. (Thank you, Peggy!) Today, I’m sharing the other half of my garden, raised beds 10-20. Don’t forget to click the links to see how everything looked last month.

BED 10 – Sweet Peppers

Since last month, I finally pulled the lettuce that had bolted in this bed. Now let’s see if it helps my pepper plants to grow. Like the plants in bed 1, they are way too small for their age. And I’m not getting very many bell peppers growing either. Too hot, I’m sure!

Bed 10 in July 2015 ~ Sweet peppers

Bed 10 in July 2015 ~ Sweet peppers

BED 11 – Okra & chili peppers

My okra has grown a lot since last month, but it looks more scraggly than I thought it would look. Somehow, I thought it would be bushier. But I’ve never grown it before, so what do I know? I pulled the lettuce that had bolted in this bed, and my fish peppers are finally growing.

Bed 11 in July 2015 ~ Okra & chili peppers

Bed 11 in July 2015 ~ Okra & chili peppers

BED 12 – Chard & slicing tomatoes

My chard is growing, but at the end of the day it looks quite limp. I need to harvest it. Most of the leaves have been attacked by spider mites, but I need to trim them away anyway. I can at least eat the stalks. My tomatoes are hanging in there, but I’m waiting for a better harvest when it cools off. All in all, everything has grown since last month.

Bed 12 in July 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

Bed 12 in July 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

BED 12x – Perpetual spinach & fallow

Since last month, you can see I’ve at least weeded the back of the bed. I was going to plant summer squash there last month, which was late for the spring planting and early for the summer planting. With the heat, I decided to wait until early next month. I still need to trim the perpetual spinach (also attacked by spider mites), so I can get leaves I can actually eat.

Bed 12x in July 2015 ~ Perpetual spinach & fallow

Bed 12x in July 2015 ~ Perpetual spinach & fallow

BED 13 – Raspberries

You can definitely see how the heat has affected my raspberries since last month. (The Japanese beetles did a bit of damage, as well, but not too bad, thankfully.) When I took this picture, I noticed I have some berries growing. I think the fall crop is starting. I’ll have to look at the canes more closely this weekend (after I tuck the extra growth back under the “fencing,” that is!)

Bed 13 in July 2015 ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in July 2015 ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

It seems it’s time to weed the front of the bed again. (It looked so clean last month.) The fern looks very good, and the seeds keep coming.

Bed 14 in July 2015 ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in July 2015 ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Paste tomatoes

My tomatoes have grown since last month, but they’re still looking a bit scrawny. The Amish paste tomatoes (right side of the bed) are the smallest plants, but the tomatoes are healthier than the San Marzanos. I’ve never had blossom end rot in my tomatoes with all the calcium in my soil. But I have thrown away about half my San Marzano harvest so far because of it. My mother has the same problem in Rhode Island with this variety. Anyone else have that problem with San Marzano tomatoes?

Bed 15 in July 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 15 in July 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 16 – Slicing & cherry tomatoes

More signs of heat and the signs of a large tomato harvest not to come. (Click here to see them last month.) No more worm holes but stink bug damage and some kind of heat-related rot. My trash bin has been getting more tomatoes than I have! The only tomatoes that are doing well are my Reisentraube cherry tomatoes.

Bed 16 in July 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 16 in July 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

BED 17 – Eggplant

My eggplants don’t look quite as lush as they did last month. Even these heat-loving plants are slowing down production in this heat.

Bed 17 in July 2015 ~ Eggplant

Bed 17 in July 2015 ~ Eggplant

BED 18 – Chili peppers

You can see how the heat has gotten to my peppers since last month, too. Not much growth and scrawny looking. No jalapenos at all…for a while. Not many Black Hungarian peppers either. The pepperoncini are hanging in there, and I’m getting good harvests from the hot cherry peppers, serranos, and cayennes.

Bed 18 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers

Bed 18 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers

BED 19 – Dixie butter peas & fallow

Just like my lima beans, I have yet to harvest these – and I have dried pods I MUST pick. (Seed for next year!) Guess what I’ll be doing this weekend? No ands, ifs, or buts! Next month, I’ll plant more snap beans in the front of the bed. At least they don’t look too bad compared to last month.

Bed 19 in July 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

Bed 19 in July 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

BED 20 – Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

This is basically my overflow bed. Everything has grown since last month, but the heat has had its effect. I’m FINALLY getting some Cubanelle peppers again, and my other Serranos and Filius Blue peppers are growing well. More cherry tomatoes and my Pink Brandywines are doing fairly well here. The Tiny Tim tomatoes are almost done.

Bed 20 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 20 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Again, if you missed the first half of my garden pictures, please see How My Garden Grows in July Part 1. At the end of the year, I’ll present a slide show of my garden through the seasons.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

3 comments on “How My Garden Grows in July 2015 ~ Part 2

Leave a Reply

