How My Garden Grows in July 2015 ~ Part 1

Here we are in the midst of the summer haze, heat, and humidity, and my garden is showing it. I will admit, however, that not all of what you’re about to see can be blamed on the weather. I knew my garden wasn’t doing as well as it has in the past, but I didn’t realize how poorly it was until I looked at last year’s pictures from the same time period. I just haven’t been able to get out in the heat for long enough to fertilize, apply foliar spray, weed, etc. And it shows….a lot. It’s a little embarrassing – what with me having a gardening blog and all – but I have promised that I’d share the good, the bad, AND the ugly because that’s life. Maybe I could look at it this way. This year is a study on the effects of doing…nothing. So, sit back, take a look at part 1 of my monthly garden photos, click the links to see how each bed looked last month, and smile if my garden makes yours look like a paradise.

Here’s an overall look at my garden. I have 21 beds, 18 of which are along the side of my house. This picture is looking down the length of my 18 beds. (See last month.)

My side beds in July 2015

My side beds in July 2015

Here’s a closeup of the far end of the beds. (Click here to see how they looked last month.)

My side beds in July 2015 ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in July 2015 ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Chili peppers

Last month, I still had my romaine lettuce growing in this bed. I should’ve pulled it the beginning of June when it started bolting. Pure laziness on my part. The price I’m paying for that is my lemon drop peppers have grown very little in four months. Last year at this time, they were at least five times bigger than these. I think the lettuce overcrowded the peppers with their roots and blocked out the sun. We’ll see how my peppers grow now.

Bed 1 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers

Bed 1 in July 2015 ~ Chili peppers

BED 2 – Lima beans

My lima beans don’t look much different than last month, thankfully. You can’t see it in the picture, but I’ve yet to harvest the pods. When there’s a breeze, the dried pods sound like wind chimes. LOL. Okay, my contempt for the wicked heat isn’t funny. I’m just going to have to force myself to get up early this weekend (on my day off!!) and pick those pods (for seed) so the plants will produce some more lima beans….for me to eat.

Bed 2 in July 2015 ~ Lima beans

Bed 2 in July 2015 ~ Lima beans

BED 3 – Squash & pumpkins

All my vines looked so pretty last month. So did the area around the bed. Not this month. The bed doesn’t look quite as full. My butternut squash died (can’t handle Charleston weather??), so two hills’ worth of vines are gone. The heat has caused some downy mildew damage. And, my lack of feeding them is preventing fuller growth. The fence was covered this time last year.

Bed 3 in July 2015 ~ Squash & pumpkins

Bed 3 in July 2015 ~ Squash & pumpkins

BED 4 – Fallow

My intentional fallow bed (see last month) now has unintentional ground cover. What? You don’t like my euphemism for major weed growth? Hey, ya gotta look at the bright side. Actually, it’s not all weed growth. You can see a squash vine crawling across the front end. The middle part has become my dumping ground for some weeds I have pulled. It’s a work in progress that needs to be completed in time for the fall planting. (YIKES….it begins next month and I don’t even have a plan made yet! Where does the time go??)

Bed 4 in July 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 4 in July 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 5 – Fallow

So clean looking last month, this bed has got some “ground cover” of its own, but it’s mostly my watermelon vines crawling across the bed.

Bed 5 in July 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 5 in July 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 6 – Cucumbers & melons

My cucumber vines looked pretty good last month, even with the downy mildew starting. This month, the mildew has all but shriveled the vines. And any cukes produced on what’s left is now being eaten by pickle worms. <sigh> (You can also see a handful of cucumbers that got stuck in the trellis and have turned yellow.) The watermelons in the back of the bed are growing, but I don’t see much fruit production yet. The canteloupe and honeydew in the front of the bed have a few fruit on them that are almost ripe.

Bed 6 in July 2015 ~ Cucumbers & melons

Bed 6 in July 2015 ~ Cucumbers & melons

BED 7 – Melons

Downy mildew has attacked several of my melons, as well. They’re looking pretty shabby compared to last month. However, my watermelons (white in the back, red in the front) are growing like crazy. The fruit on the white ones aren’t growing as large as they normally do, but they’re ripening well. I have several decent-size fruit on the red ones, waiting for the first one to ripen.

Bed 7 in July 2015 ~ Melons

Bed 7 in July 2015 ~ Melons

BED 8 – Corn

My Glass Gem corn went from sickly (last month) to sicklier this month. I have stalks that don’t even have ears growing on them. This would make an epic article for a “Don’t Do This!” series. Not feeding my corn, not giving it continual foliar sprays of epsom salts, and not top dressing with rich compost halfway through their growth has caused….this.

Bed 8 in July 2015 ~ Corn

Bed 8 in July 2015 ~ Corn

BED 9 – Snap beans

My last harvest of snap beans was a month ago (click here to see them last month), but it’s been too bloody hot to pull the plants. However, in spite of their peaked look, I actually saw some beans on the vines as well as some flowers, so maybe I should give the patch a look through this weekend to see if I have a harvest surprise waiting on me.

Bed 9 in July 2015 ~ Snap beans

Bed 9 in July 2015 ~ Snap beans

Be sure to see “How My Garden Grows in July Part 2.”

Signature

2 comments on “How My Garden Grows in July 2015 ~ Part 1

  1. Hi Rosemarie,
    I just wanted to let you know that my SC garden does not look any better than yours and I am out there everyday, since I am retired and can garden in the early morning. It was doing fairly well until about 2 weeks ago. Now, I feel like I am barely keeping things alive. My corn was a bust, the peppers are barely growing as is the chard. The tomatoes are scraggly. The cukes refuse to set fruit and now the ends of the vines are wilting and dying. The pole beans are coming back from a good initial harvest, but the growth is small and delicate, not robust as usual. The snap beans looked like they were going to produce a good second harvest, which they should have done, but all the blossoms and the baby beans are disappearing. This weekend, I am going to replant snap beans and try seeding collards, which I have usually not done until September. The new tomato plants I put in two weeks ago are doing well. The eggplant still looks good, but the fruit is so slow in developing!
    Bottom line, I don’t think any amount of care could compensate for the high temps and erratic rainfall we have had this summer!
    Garden on!

    • Thank you, Peggy. You know how to make your garden buddy feel better! I’m sure my garden would be a little better if I helped it along, but the heat has surely been oppressive this year. I do know my corn is suffering because I did not give it the extra nitrogen that corn has to have to grow properly. Oh, well. Not much popcorn coming this year. LOL

Leave a Reply

