Was This the Star of Bethlehem?

I know I’m a few days late sharing this with you, but duty called, and I couldn’t get the pictures together until this week. Last week, the news was full of astronomers talking about the fact that Jupiter and Venus are appearing closer together than they have in over 2000 years (since 3 BCE, I believe). Well, we know what happened 2000 years ago. It seems this MAY be what the wise men followed to find Yeshua (Jesus) in Bethlehem. (It also could’ve been an exploding super nova, but I digress.) The closest the planets would appear was on the night of June 30th, a week ago, and I got some pictures of it over my homestead.

Jupiter and Venus appeared extremely close together in the western sky around 9:30 p.m. (I live in the Eastern time zone, by the way.) Unfortunately, I don’t own a telescope and couldn’t get any very close photographs. (I sure did long for the 6-inch telescope my father had while we were growing up!)

However, I think my cell phone took decent enough pictures to share with you – in case you weren’t able to see this once-in-a-lifetime astronomical event.

In these pictures, Venus is on the bottom with Jupiter on the top. (Venus is brighter because it’s closer to earth.) See how close together they are in this picture?

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

In this picture, you can see the outline of the trees in my yard and my neighbor’s yard.

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

In this picture, the planets almost look as one. I wish photos could show how much they twinkled. It was awesome!

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

Jupiter looks like a pinpoint above Venus in this photo.

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015

My final picture, I zoomed my cell phone camera, to see if it would make a difference.

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015 ~ with camera on zoom

Jupiter & Venus 30 June 2015 ~ with camera on zoom

It was definitely a wonderful experience seeing this in the stars. Did you get to see it? If not, you may have to wait another two millenia!

Signature

4 comments on “Was This the Star of Bethlehem?

Leave a Reply

