How My Garden Grows in June 2015 ~ Part 2

Greetings from “the scorch.” Yes, we’re still bearing up under 100+ degree days here in South Carolina. Thankfully, my garden is surviving. Some plants barely, but still hanging on. Last post, I shared with you pictures of the first half of my garden, raised beds 1-9. (If you missed it, click here.) Today, I’m sharing pictures of raised beds 10-20. Don’t forget to click the links included to see how everything looked last month.

BED 10 – Sweet peppers & lettuce

The lettuce has bolted since last month, but it seems the pepper plants haven’t grown as much as you’d think. (When the lettuce looks a bit bigger than the peppers…yikes!) However, it has been hot, and peppers don’t grow or produce much when it’s too hot. My goal is just to keep them alive. I will say, the sweet peppers are doing better than the chili peppers (to be seen later below).

Bed 10 in June 2015 ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

Bed 10 in June 2015 ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

BED 11 – Okra, lettuce, & chili peppers

My okra has grown tremendously compared to last month. It’s time for me to thin out the plants a bit, to give the bigger plants more room to grow. The lettuce has bolted (and needs to be pulled), and the fish peppers have filled out a bit. Except for that one in the front on the left. What’s up with that little guy?

Bed 11 in June 2015 ~ Okra, lettuce, & chili peppers

Bed 11 in June 2015 ~ Okra, lettuce, & chili peppers

BED 12 – Chard & slicing tomatoes

You can see a big difference in my plants in this bed since last month, for sure. The tomatoes have tripled in size and have fruit, and the ruby chard seedlings have grown into good-sized plants. Remember how I stated I was going to plant celery seeds? Well, that never happened…and now it’s too hot. I do have a tomato cutting that I plan to transplant in that bed, though. You can’t have too many tomatoes!

Bed 12 in June 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

Bed 12 in June 2015 ~ Chard & slicing tomatoes

BED 12x – Fallow & perpetual spinach

This bed is a good example of the results of the intense heat we’ve been having. Before taking all these pictures, I had planned to have the grass cut and the weeds pulled, but it’s been way too hot. So, the grass is shaggy, and the weed fest in the back of the bed is obvious. The perpetual spinach is much larger than last month though, so that’s good. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to harvest the perpetual spinach to eat because the heat has caused spider mites to suck the juice out of the leaves. Eww…. I do need to trim the plants, though, to encourage new growth – that I can, hopefully, eat.

Bed 12x in June 2015 ~ Fallow & perpetual spinach

Bed 12x in June 2015 ~ Fallow & perpetual spinach

BED 13 – Raspberries

There isn’t much difference in my raspberries between this month and last month, at least in growth. They do look a little more tired this month; and if you could see more closely, you’d see a few leaves eaten by Japanese beetles (which we’re beating, I think) and heat stressed canes. They’re still producing berries though.

Bed 13 in June 2015 ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in June 2015 ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

Since last month, my asparagus has produced even more seed berries. You might be able to notice that in the picture below. The bed’s been weeded since last month’s picture, too. I love looking at the fern in the summer.

Bed 14 in June 2015 ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in June 2015 ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Paste tomatoes

The tomatoes have definitely grown since last month and are loaded with tomatoes. I still can’t figure out what’s going on with the ones on the right side of the bed (Amish paste tomatoes). They’ve grown some, but not as much as my other tomatoes (San Marzano and a few Amish paste). They’re spindly looking. They get the same treatment, same water, same sun. Strange. You can see, too, that my tomatoes need to be tied to the stakes some more, but again…it’s been too hot!

Bed 15 in June 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 15 in June 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 16 – Slicing & cherry tomatoes

There’s been lots of growth in these tomatoes since last month, with lots of fruit showing in the picture. You can also see better how much I need to stake these tomatoes, too. I’m going to have to rise with the sun on my days off to take care of a bunch of chores in the garden this weekend!

Bed 16 in June 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 16 in June 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

BED 17 – Eggplant

Compared to last month, this looks like an eggplant forest! I’ve already started harvesting some Edirne Striped and Rosa Bianca eggplant. (The Black Beauty are just starting to flower and fruit.) These are probably the only plants in my garden that are actually loving the heat!

Bed 17 in June 2015 ~ Eggplant

Bed 17 in June 2015 ~ Eggplant

BED 18 – Chili peppers

And these plants are probably showing heat stress more than my other plants. They’ve grown since last month and are producing fruit, but you can see the yellowing leaves and the leaf drop. Poor babies. 😦

Bed 18 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers

Bed 18 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers

BED 19 – Butter peas & fallow

My butter peas have grown, filled in, and are producing pods since last month. I had intended to have the other half of the bed planted with another round of snap beans by now, but the heat has kept me from doing it. I’m going to have to plant this weekend to get more beans going, even if I have to get up at dawn to do it.

Bed 19 in June 2015 ~ Butterpeas & fallow

Bed 19 in June 2015 ~ Butterpeas & fallow

BED 20 – Chili peppers and slicing & cherry tomatoes

My tomatoes and peppers have surely grown since last month. (The Filius Blue peppers in the front left won’t get much taller than that as they’re small plants.) Everything is producing, except my cubanelle peppers. I’ve harvested only three, and they’ve been from the same plant. It’s probably just too hot.

Bed 20 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 20 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

If we can just make it through the heat (and the inevitable bug fest that is about to follow), I think I should still get a decent harvest from everything. I NEED to get in my garden this weekend to foliar spray and fertilize and lay more mulch. If it’s still too humid around sunrise, I’m considering purchasing a portable halogen work lamp and getting out in the garden at 9:30 at night when it’s 10-15 degrees cooler. That might work. What do you think??

Again, if you missed the first half of my garden pictures, please see How My Garden Grows in June Part 1. At the end of the year, I’ll present a slide show of my garden through the seasons.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

 

2 comments on “How My Garden Grows in June 2015 ~ Part 2

    • My garden still looks pretty good overall, but I have work to do (and soon) to keep it. My cucumbers have gone downhill in just the few days since I took these pictures. They are loaded with downy mildew and look scorched!

Leave a Reply

