How My Garden Grows in June 2015 ~ Part 1

The weather has surely changed since last month, and you can see the effect on some of my plants this month. Everything has grown, but there are signs of heat stress on many of my plants. There’s nothing I can do about that, unfortunately. Today, I’m sharing pictures of half my garden of 21 raised beds in this month’s installment of How My Garden Grows. There are also links to what the plants looked like last month, so be sure to click the links to see the difference a month makes.

First, here’s an overall look at the bulk of my garden – 18 of my 21 raised beds, which sit on the side of my house. (The other three beds are along the back fence.) The plants are surely taller than last month.

My side beds in June 2015

My side beds in June 2015

Here is a closeup of the far side of the beds. You can really see the growth in many plants since last month.

My side beds in June 2015 ~ Closeup of the far end

My side beds in June 2015 ~ Closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Chili peppers and lettuce

Since last month, the Romaine lettuce seems to have taken over the bed. My Lemon Drop peppers are growing, but not as much as I would like. It’s time to harvest all the lettuce, as it’s starting to bolt. It’s just been too bloody hot to get out there and do it!

Bed 1 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers & lettuce

Bed 1 in June 2015 ~ Chili peppers & lettuce

BED 2 – Lima beans

My lima beans have filled in since last month and now have flowers and pods growing on them.

Bed 2 in June 2015 ~ Lima beans

Bed 2 in June 2015 ~ Lima beans

BED 3 – Squash & Pumpkins

Since last month, I harvested the radishes, so the front part of the bed is currently fallow. I had planned to plant zucchini there, but I decided to let it stay fallow and just redirect the vines over that area of the bed. As you can see, they’re growing up the fence, and I have squash on the fence and hiding under the leaves in the bed.

Bed 3 in June 2015 ~ Squash & pumpkins

Bed 3 in June 2015 ~ Squash & pumpkins

BED 4 – Fallow

I harvested the onions since last month, leaving only the old onion flowers left to pull. I was going to do that this past weekend before taking pictures, but I got a bit of heat exhaustion so all outdoor activities had to be put on hold while I recuperated. In the next week or two, I’ll be planting zucchini here. I think the squash vine borer egg-laying season is over.

Bed 4 in June 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 4 in June 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 5 – Fallow

You know the heat exhaustion I mentioned above? I got it harvesting the garlic that was in this bed last month. An hour and a half in the heat was all it took! This bed is going to get yellow summer squash in the next week or two.

Bed 5 in June 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 5 in June 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 6 – Cucumbers & melons

I pulled the radishes on the edges of the bed since last month. You can see the cucumbers and melons have grown, but the cukes already have downy mildew from all the rain we got last month and now the intense heat and humidity. I’m trying to keep them alive! So far, so good. I am getting some cucumbers (though not near as many as I should be with 16 plants!) I also have watermelons growing on these vines.

Bed 6 in June 2015 ~ Cucumbers & melons

Bed 6 in June 2015 ~ Cucumbers & melons

BED 7 – Melons

I pulled the radishes from this bed since last month, too. The melons have grown up the trellis, and you can see some of them hanging down. I have a few watermelons growing in the back of the bed, but I haven’t found any canteloupe or honeydew melons in the front of the bed yet.

Bed 7 in June 2015 ~ Melons

Bed 7 in June 2015 ~ Melons

BED 8 – Corn

My Glass Gem popcorn doesn’t look very good this year. Compared to last month, it has grown; but the stalks are spindly and the leaves are very pale. A lot of the problem is the fact that I didn’t feed it a month or so ago when I should have. When I realized that, it was too hot for me to do much about it. Maybe if I get up at the crack of dawn this weekend and fertilize??? Or…too little too late? We’ll see.

Bed 8 in June 2015 ~ Corn

Bed 8 in June 2015 ~ Corn

BED 9 – Snap beans

You can tell that my snap beans have been suffering from heat exhaustion themselves; they’re not quite as perky as they were last month. But they’ve been producing! I’ve picked six pounds of beans from this bed of beans so far.

Bed 9 in June 2015 ~ Snap beans

Bed 9 in June 2015 ~ Snap beans

Come back on Friday to see the rest of How My Garden Grows in June.

Signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

