Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 5/30/15

This past weekend, I had my first major harvest of the season. The raspberries are ripening, the radishes and onions got fully harvested, the snap beans and cucumbers are producing their first harvest, the lettuce is ripe for cutting, and a handful of peppers were ready to pick. In all, I harvested almost a half pound of raspberries, 2.7 pounds of radishes, 1.4 pounds of cucumbers, 1.3 pounds of lettuce, 2.2 pounds of snap beans (green and wax), 8.8 pounds of onions, and a handful of peppers. Not bad for the last weekend in May! Take a look.

HARVEST ~ MAY 28:

I pulled the remainder of my onions.

From top to bottom: Barbosa, Texas Granex, Red Creole onions

From top to bottom: Barbosa, Texas Granex, Red Creole onions

My first chili peppers and cucumber, along with a large handful of raspberries.

Filius Blue peppers, Caroline raspberries, Boston pickling cucumber

Filius Blue peppers, Caroline raspberries, Boston pickling cucumber

HARVEST ~ MAY 30:

Before breakfast on Saturday, I went out to harvest raspberries and any cucumbers – to eat for breakfast. I was so excited to have fresh produce for breakfast, I didn’t remember to take a picture for you until I had cut off the ends of the cucumber!

Boston pickling cucumber & Caroline raspberries

Boston pickling cucumber & Caroline raspberries

Later in the day, I harvested my first beans, Beit Alpha cucumbers, and cubanelle pepper. I also found another pickling cuke, hiding among the leaves.

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Beit Alpha cucumbers, Black Valentine green beans, Boston pickling cucumber, & Cubanelle pepper

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Beit Alpha cucumbers, Black Valentine green beans, Boston pickling cucumber, & Cubanelle pepper

I harvested the rest of my purple plum radishes and all of my watermelon and black radishes. This is the first time I grew black radishes. The package said they prefer to mature in cooler temperatures, making this a fall crop, but I thought I’d try them anyway. Well, two-thirds of the crop never matured, so the package was correct. However, I did get some – and are they spicy! Almost like eating horseradish (but not as painful). Yummy!

Purple Plum, Watermelon, and Black radishes

Purple Plum, Watermelon, and Black radishes

I cut my first harvest of lettuce. I had enough for a large bowl of salad that lasted two meals, with more in the fridge for tonight’s supper.

Red Romaine & Black Seeded Simpson lettuce

Red Romaine & Black Seeded Simpson lettuce

Reine des Glaces & Red Sails lettuce

Reine des Glaces & Red Sails lettuce

Are you harvesting anything from your garden this week?

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

