Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 5/18/15

It’s definitely almost-summer now with temperatures in the 80s pretty consistently. This past week, we actually had a couple of days in the low 90s. So much for spring weather. The garden is doing fairly well, but needing some weeding again, a bit of fertilizer, and a couple of foliar sprays. With the long holiday weekend coming up, you know what I’ll be doing. Meanwhile, enjoy some of the new things happening in my garden.

WHAT’S NEW:

Two of the three dahlias that I planted around my patio last year came back, and one of them is starting to bloom.

Dahlia

Dahlia bloom

My Reliance grapes finally have their first flowers, and my Marquis and Concord grape flowers are turning into baby grapes! (Sorry for the less-than-clear picture; the wind kept blowing the vines.)

Marquis grapes forming

Marquis grapes forming

While pruning my tomatoes, I noticed I have my first cubanelle pepper.

Cubanelle pepper

Cubanelle pepper

My green beans are starting to flower.

Black Valentine bean flowers

Black Valentine bean flowers

While walking to my front door the other day, I noticed that several of my gladioli are starting to bud. I’ll have beautiful flowers for my dining room table soon.

Gladiolus bud

Gladiolus bud

IN THE GARDEN:

I am loving how these Tiny Tim tomatoes grow. The plants are so tiny (not even a foot tall yet), but they’re covered in flowers – and now lots of miniature tomatoes.

Tiny Tim tomatoes

Tiny Tim tomatoes

I’m enjoying watching the okra grow. The first true leaves were similar to the baby leaves (cotyledon), but the next leaves after that remind me of maple leaves. How cool is that?

Okra

Okra

I had one celery plant survive the winter (after planting seed in the fall – something that was an experiment). I’m debating whether or not I should transplant it into my chard bed, along with new celery seed I want to sow. I’m not sure celery takes to transplanting. Anyone ever try it?

Celery

Celery

Here’s one of my hydrangeas as seen from my shade garden.

Hydrangea

Hydrangea

My shade garden is doing well. Most of the astilbe are coming up; I’m waiting on two more. All the other plants have survived the transplant process. One of my heuchera has sent up a large flower spike already.

Silver Scrolls heuchera flower

Silver Scrolls heuchera flower

GARDEN BOUNTY:

Several of my onions were pushing out of the ground, so I harvested them (even though their tops weren’t brown – I didn’t want the onions to rot). Altogether, I harvested just shy of 4 pounds of onions.

Onions: Red Creole (top), Barbosa white (bottom left), & Texas Granex (bottom right)

Onions: Red Creole (top) & Barbosa yellow (bottom)

What’s happening in your garden this week?

Signature

Leave a Reply

