How My Garden Grows in April 2015 ~ Part 2

Last post, I shared with you the first half of my spring garden. (Click here if you missed Part 1.) So, today, I’m proud to share with you the rest of my garden.

You’ve seen beds 1-9; here are beds 10-20. Don’t forget to click the links to see how each bed looked last month. The difference is amazing! (Yes, we gardeners live for the beauty — and yumminess — the hard work produces!)

BED 10 – Sweet peppers & lettuce

I grew all my peppers from seed in my grow room. In this bed, I have Mini Red Bell, Purple Beauty, Mini Yellow Stuffing, and Emerald Giant Green Bell peppers. Between them, I planted Red Sails and Reine des Glaces lettuce. (Last month, this bed had kale, escarole, and arugula.)

Bed 10 in April 2015 ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

Bed 10 in April 2015 ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

BED 11 – Okra, lettuce & chili peppers

Last month, this bed was fallow. Now, it holds my Star of David okra, Black Seeded Simpson lettuce (you can see a few of the new seedlings already), and Fish peppers.

Bed 11 in April 2015 ~ Okra, lettuce & chili peppers

Bed 11 in April 2015 ~ Okra, lettuce & chili peppers

BED 12 – Chard, celery, & slicing tomatoes

This bed was fallow last month, except for the two chard plants that came back from last year (you can see them in the back of the bed). I planted more Fordhook chard, as well as Ruby chard. In the front of the bed are extra Black Krim and Cherokee Purple tomatoes. Between the chard and the tomatoes, I will be planting Utah celery seed this weekend.

Bed 12 in April 2015 ~ Chard, celery, & slicing tomatoes

Bed 12 in April 2015 ~ Chard, celery, & slicing tomatoes

BED 12x – Orach & perpetual spinach

This bed was also fallow last month. I planted Magenta orach and Perpetual spinach in this bed to give me greens through the summer. The seedlings are very small right now, and there are also some small weeds in the bed. (I’m going to have to wait until the seedlings have their first true leaves before weeding so I don’t accidentally pull the seedlings instead of the weeds.)

Bed 12x in April 2015 ~ Orach & perpetual spinach

Bed 12x in April 2015 ~ Orach & perpetual spinach

BED 13 – Raspberries

It’s amazing how much growth has occurred in my Caroline raspberries since last month! After weeding and adding manure-compost and Azomite rock dust, the canes are almost above the “fencing,” and there are flower buds on many canes.

Bed 13 in April 2015 ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in April 2015 ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

Last month, I had just a couple of spears starting to come up. I also had weeds and a couple of fire ant hills to deal with. The back of the bed has Mary Washington asparagus, and I didn’t harvest much from it. It hasn’t done well the past year or two (autumns too hot??), so I thought I’d let most of it go directly to fern. In the front, I had planted Purple Passion asparagus roots a year ago, but only a couple of them ever grew. So, I took Mary Washington asparagus seed I harvested last year and sprinkled them all over the bed to grow more from seed (and fill the bed in).

Bed 14 in April 2015 ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in April 2015 ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Paste tomatoes

This bed held my lettuce (along with a huge fire ant hill and lots of weeds) last month. Like the peppers, I grew 100% of my tomatoes from seed this year. This bed has Amish Paste and San Marzano tomatoes. I see lots of homemade tomato sauce in my future!

Bed 15 in April 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

Bed 15 in April 2015 ~ Paste tomatoes

BED 16 – Slicing & cherry tomatoes

This bed had carrots in it last month. Now it holds my Black Krim, Cherokee Purple, Mortgage Lifter, and Riesentraube (cherry) tomatoes. In the front of the picture is the Black Krim tomato cutting I took last fall – split into two plants. I already have my first tomato on the original cutting (bottom right)!!! I’ll share the picture of it in my next post. My mouth is already salivating for caprese salad! (By the way, carrots and tomatoes love to follow each other in the garden.)

Bed 16 in April 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 16 in April 2015 ~ Slicing & cherry tomatoes

BED 17 – Eggplant

Last month, this bed had my turnips, radishes, and brussels sprouts (and lots of weeds). Now it has Black Beauty, Rosa Bianca, and Edirne Striped eggplant – all grown from seed in my grow room. Lots of plants to be able to make eggplant parmesan and eggplant fries and eggplant casserole….

Bed 17 in April 2015 ~ Eggplant

Bed 17 in April 2015 ~ Eggplant

BED 18 – Chili peppers

This bed contained my beets last month. Now, it has the bulk of my chili peppers – Serrano, Cayenne, Jalapeno, Hot Cherry, Black Hungarian, and Pepperoncini.

Bed 18 in April 2015 ~ Chili peppers

Bed 18 in April 2015 ~ Chili peppers

BED 19 – Butter peas & fallow

This bed was completely fallow last month. (Except for one lonely head of lettuce, that is.) Now, the back part of the bed has Dixie Speckled butter peas – all from seed I harvested last fall. The front part of the bed will be planted with more snap beans in a few weeks, so I can stagger my harvests.

Bed 19 in April 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

Bed 19 in April 2015 ~ Butter peas & fallow

BED 20 – Chili peppers, and slicing & cherry tomatoes

This bed was fallow last month (except for the weeds, obviously). I designated this bed as my “overflow” for the plants that wouldn’t fit anywhere else or for the extras. I planted Tiny Tim (tiny cherry) and Pink Brandywine tomatoes, as well as extra Riesentraube (cherry) tomatoes. I also planted Cubanelle and Filius Blue peppers, along with extra Serrano peppers.

Bed 20 in April 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

Bed 20 in April 2015 ~ Chili peppers, slicing & cherry tomatoes

It was a lot of work to clean up the garden and get the spring crops in, but it was well worth it. It’s so pretty to look at! And, I know I’ll have some yummy veggies very soon.

Again, if you missed the first half of my garden pictures, please see How My Garden Grows in April Part 1. At the end of the year, I’ll present a slide show of my garden through the seasons.

What have you planted in your garden this spring?

Signature

 

 

 

2 comments on “How My Garden Grows in April 2015 ~ Part 2

  1. Very beautiful! And soon to be yummy!!!! We just started our clean up for our spring veggies. I have them started in the pole barn. They will find a bed this week.

Leave a Reply

