My First Apple Blossoms

Apple Blossom picToday, I had originally planned to share with you pictures of the last of my winter crop harvest, but I’m not quite finished bringing it all in. So, it will have to wait until Friday’s post. And here’s an even better reason to put it off a couple of days….I have my very first blossoms on my apple trees! A few days ago, I was walking in my backyard and happened to notice something white in the corner of my eye. I turned towards my front yard and saw that my apple trees had flowers. I was so excited, I snapped a bunch of pictures.

Although I’ve been apple picking (in New England), I have never seen an apple blossom in person. They are absolutely beautiful! And both the Granny Smith and the Pink Lady apple trees are in bloom. Of course, there are only a handful of flowers on each tree because they’re still small; but I am enjoying the splendor my trees are showing me. I’m excited to now share these blossoms with you.

GRANNY SMITH APPLE BLOSSOMS:

The apple buds are deep pink, then open to form pink-edged white flowers.

Granny Smith apple blossom

Granny Smith apple blossom

Granny Smith apple blossom with buds

Granny Smith apple blossom with buds

Granny Smith apple blossom

Granny Smith apple blossom

Granny Smith apple blossom

Granny Smith apple blossom

PINK LADY APPLE BLOSSOMS:

The Pink Lady apple blossoms are very similar to the Granny Smith ones.

Pink Lady apple blossom with buds

Pink Lady apple blossom with buds

Pink Lady apple blossom

Pink Lady apple blossom

Pink Lady apple blossom

Pink Lady apple blossom

Pink Lady apple blossom

Pink Lady apple blossom

Aren’t they just gorgeous?

What do you have blooming on your homestead?

Signature

2 comments on “My First Apple Blossoms

Leave a Reply

