Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 4/6/15

It’s officially spring, and I took a week’s vacation from work to get the spring planting done! That includes harvesting the last of the winter crops, weeding and prepping the soil, and planting seed/transplanting seedlings. I’ve got my work cut out for me, for sure. Usually, at this time of year, I increase my blog posts from three times a week to five; but I’m going to change that this year. Because I’m working full time while working my “urban farm” AND running my own business, something had to give. So, until further notice, I’ll continue to post on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. However, be assured, if I have something special to share, you’ll be getting a bonus post from Sanctuary Gardener. 😉 And now, on to this week’s garden update.

WHAT’S NEW

My key lime trees suffered greatly this past winter, despite my covering them. However, I was hoping that the roots would still have life in them. I’m happy to report that both trees are showing signs of life on the trunks. There’s hope!

Key lime trees - new signs of life

Key lime trees – new signs of life

While walking up my front walkway the other day, I noticed a few of my Tom Thumb peas have pods.

Tiny Tim pea pod

Tom Thumb pea pod

On Friday, I worked on my front walkway. I weeded, relaid mulch, harvested my scarlet kale, transplanted curly parsley from pots to the top of the walkway, and sowed seed for Emily basil (a shorter variety of basil), Fernleaf dill, thyme, chives, and lemon thyme. My sage, oregano, spicy oregano, and Tiny Tim peas are doing well, too. (As for my tulips…still no flowers. ???)

Front walkway, ready for spring

Front walkway, ready for spring

Meanwhile, I’ve started hardening off my seedlings. They’re basking in the shade and breeze here; today they’ll get some morning sun for a couple of hours then back into the shade until supper time.

Seedlings being hardened off

Seedlings being hardened off

Last year, my Garden Wilson’s sister and brother-in-law gave us a gardening bucket caddy and a wonderful garden tool for digging holes for bulbs. (It also has a serrated edge for cutting.) Well, I bought a new five-gallon bucket, snugged the caddy around it, and filled it with my garden tools. I LOVE it! Everything I need in one place.

New garden tool bucket & caddy

New garden tool bucket & caddy

IN THE GARDEN

I have two grow bags with fingerling potatoes in them. One bag has only one plant; this one has two.

Fingerling potato vines

Fingerling potato vines

Here’s my lettuce bed before I harvested it this past weekend. It was starting to bolt, but I got a lot of lettuce out of it!

Red romaine (back left), red sails (foreground), & black seeded simpson lettuce (right)

Red romaine (back left), red sails (foreground), & black seeded simpson lettuce (back right)

My scarlet kale was beginning to bolt when I harvested it.

Scarlet kale bolting

Scarlet kale bolting

Meanwhile, the rest of my brassicas were in full flower. So beautiful.

Scotch Curled kale flowers

Scotch Curled kale flowers

Purple Top turnip flowers

Purple Top turnip flowers

Mustard greens flowers

Mustard greens flowers

Watermelon radish flowers

Watermelon radish flowers

Purple Plum radish flowers

Purple Plum radish flowers

I’m harvesting so much I have to share that in a separate post.

What’s happening in your garden this beautiful week of spring?

Signature

Leave a Reply

