Birds at My Feeder

A couple of weeks ago, my Garden Wilson hung my bird feeder from a branch on my sweet gum tree – in an attempt to keep the squirrels from eating all the bird seed. I also had to move one of my tiki torches because the squirrel had learned to use it as a platform from which to jump onto the bird feeder. Argh. But now, the feeder is safe from the squirrels. With the new song bird blend of bird seed I bought and the lack of access to the gray climbing rodents, birds are flocking to my feeder in droves!

While lounging in my living room one cloudy day, shortly after hanging the bird feeder, I was able to get a few pictures of the birds visiting my back yard. Although these pictures won’t win any photography contests (I took them with my cell phone through the sliding glass doors – so I wouldn’t frighten the birds away), they are good enough to see the different avian visitors I’ve been getting.

I do know the identification of some of these birds, but not all. For example, I’m unsure what the small, brown birds are. If you can identify any birds, please let me know in the comments below.

We have two male cardinals and one female that frequent the feeder. The males are already fussing with each other, so mating season must be here. On this particular day, the female was with only one of the males.

Male cardinal

Male cardinal

Both the male and female cardinals are waiting their turn at the busy feeder. (The female is on a branch above the bird house.)

Male & female cardinals waiting their turn at the feeder

Male & female cardinals waiting their turn at the feeder

This is the first time I’ve ever seen this bird. After looking it up online, I believe this is a house finch. (Someone please correct me if I’m wrong.)

House finch

Male house finch

I love watching the birds at my feeder, and their chirping sounds are delightful.

Bird feeder traffic

Bird feeder traffic

Birds at my feeder

Birds at my feeder

While the feeder is busy, many birds pick up the scraps that fall to the ground. If you look closely, you’ll see two or three small birds in between the male and female cardinal. (Anyone know what kind of birds those are?)

Birds feeding on the scraps from the feeder

Birds feeding on the scraps from the feeder

Although I often hear the mourning doves around, this is the first time I’ve seen them.

Mourning dove

Mourning dove

I’m so happy my bird feeder is bringing so many varieties of birds to my yard. These pictures haven’t even captured all of them. This year so far, I’ve also seen Carolina wrens, mockingbirds, a blue jay, and a robin. As the weather warms, I’m sure I’ll see even more.

Do you have any bird feeders? What kinds of birds do you have on your homestead?

Signature

6 comments on “Birds at My Feeder

  1. In Summerville SC, we also get bluebirds, woodpeckers, sparrows, flickers, yellow finches and baltimore orioles. We see more varieties in the spring as birds migrate. We are also close to wetlands and woods.

    • I haven’t seen a blue bird this year yet, but I’ve had them in my yard (even a family in my birdhouse year before last). I’m waiting to see the woodpeckers. I have never seed a Baltimore Oriole, though I’ve wanted to!

      • We have 3 bird houses and one pair of bluebirds that claim the whole complex as their own and will run off any other bird who comes near! They also move the nest from the previous year from one house to another instead of building another one. Great recyclers.

  2. If you type ‘bird identification’ in a Google search, you’ll find all the information you could want to figure out which birds you have. If you select your state it may help, though I have quite a few birds that aren’t listed for my area. Also, if you check a post I did on Cardinals and Squirrels it may help you with that problem. My yard is literally filled with Cardinals, mostly male. If you try Black Oil Sunflower seed you may attract more of those, as well as other birds – they LOVE them. : )
    Also, I saw a birdhouse…you may want to put those on poles with baffles (Google search) because it’s so easy for snakes and raccoons to clean them out if they have access. I have seen snakes do amazing things to get to them. Love your pictures!

    • Thanks, Wanda. I sometimes use a site that Cornell University has; I like the photos, descriptions, and bird call recordings. Today, I believe I got a picture of a red-bellied woodpecker. He was up in a tree, so the picture isn’t the best. But I was finally able to put together a bird and its call; I’ve heard that call for weeks now and didn’t know the bird that made it. I love birds!

Leave a Reply

