How My Garden Grows in March 2015 ~ Part 2

Wednesday, I shared half the photos of how my garden looks this month. (Click here if you missed part 1.) Today, I’m sharing photos of the other half of my garden.

You’ve already seen my raised beds 1-9. Here are beds 10-20. (Be sure you click the links to compare my garden to last month.)

As you’ll see, the first task of spring for me will be a full day of weeding and prepping the beds for spring planting in two weeks. I also have to get rid of several fire ant hills before I can plant. I’ve definitely got my work cut out for me!

BED 10 – Kale, escarole, & arugula

Since last month, my kale has revived and the escarole has started growing again. And my arugula is in full bloom. I’ll be harvesting everything over the next week or so, so the bed can be prepared for my sweet pepper seedlings and lettuce seed (between the pepper plants).

Bed 10 in March 2015 ~ Kale, escarole & arugula

Bed 10 in March 2015 ~ Kale, escarole & arugula

BED 11 – Fallow

This bed has been fallow all winter, though it does have more weeds than it did last month. I will be planting okra (first time!) and extra chili peppers in this bed. (Half the bed will be my “overflow” for my chili peppers.)

Bed 11 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 11 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 12 – Chard & Fallow

If you look beyond the weeds in this fallow bed, you can see two chard plants in the back left corner that appear to be “coming back.” They’ve held their own all winter and have been green all along. (Click here to see the bed last month.)

Bed 12 in March 2015 ~ Chard & fallow

Bed 12 in March 2015 ~ Chard & fallow

BED 12x – Fallow

This bed was fallow last month, too, but it’s sporting more weeds now. (Okay, trying to find the humor in all the work I have ahead of me.) This weekend, I’ll be planting Magenta Orach in the back of the bed, and the first week of April I will plant Perpetual Spinach in the front of the bed.

Bed 12x in March 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 12x in March 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 13 – Raspberries

Since last month, we pruned the raspberries to about 30 inches in height. This will give me a steady harvest of raspberries from August through November. (This year, I’ll prune them to the ground after the first frost so I can have a large quick harvest in the fall next year.) This bed is so overrun with weeds, I’m getting my Garden Wilson to help me with this one.

Bed 13 in March 2015 ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in March 2015 ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

Since last month, the fire ants have moved in with TWO hills. They’re still fairly small, so I think I can tackle them. I found my first asparagus spear coming through the ground, so next month you should see asparagus spears.

Bed 14 in March 2015 ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in March 2015 ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Lettuce

The spinach didn’t really come up in this bed, but my lettuce hasn’t done too badly. It’s grown since last month – but so has the fire ant hill (middle left of bed). This is a huge one! My Garden Wilson and I are strategizing how best to remove the ants (and harvest the lettuce without getting bitten), so I can plant my paste tomato seedlings and basil seed in this bed in a couple weeks.

Bed 15 in March 2015 ~ Lettuce

Bed 15 in March 2015 ~ Lettuce

BED 16 – Carrots

Since last month, I’ve harvested quite a few carrots, but I have a bunch more to harvest in the next week or so. I will plant my slicing and cherry tomato seedlings and basil seeds in this bed.

Bed 16 in March 2015 ~ Carrots

Bed 16 in March 2015 ~ Carrots

BED 17 – Turnips, radishes, & brussels sprouts

Since last month, the brussels sprout plants have grown (though I won’t be harvesting any sprouts). I’ve harvested some of the radishes while others have bolted and bloomed. And the turnips are heaving out of the ground from all the frosts, so I’ll have to harvest them though they’re the size of large radishes. All will be harvested in the next week or so to make room for my eggplant seedlings.

Bed 17 in March 2015 ~ Turnips, radishes, brussels sprouts

Bed 17 in March 2015 ~ Turnips, radishes, brussels sprouts

BED 18 – Beets

I’ve pulled some beets since last month, and other plants have grown. All the beets will be harvested in the next week or so to make room for my chili pepper seedlings and more lettuce seeds.

Bed 18 in March 2015 ~ Beets

Bed 18 in March 2015 ~ Beets

BED 19 – Fallow

Last month, I said I was going to harvest the lone head of lettuce that grew in this fallow bed from a seed I obviously dropped. That lettuce is still there, but it will get pulled this week. Half this bed will have my Dixie Speckled butter peas, and the other half will have more snap beans.

Bed 19 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 19 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 20 – Fallow

There are certainly more weeds in this fallow bed than there were last month! However, it won’t take long for me to prep this bed for spring planting. This will be an overflow bed for tomatoes and peppers. I can’t have too many of either!

Bed 20 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 20 in March 2015 ~ Fallow

Again, if you missed the first half of my garden, please see How My Garden Grows in March Part 1. At the end of the year, I’ll present a slide show of my garden through the seasons.

What’s happening on your homestead this month? How are you planning for the big spring planting?

Signature

Leave a Reply

