Signs of Spring 2015

Although it is still too early to start spring planting here (last frost is usually around March 27), signs of impending spring are starting to multiply. Leaves are starting to pop, buds are appearing on the trees, birds are singing most of the day, wildflowers and wild herbs are starting to bloom, and I saw my first honeybee! I know many of you are still buried under snow and ice, so I thought I’d share my first signs of spring with you.

My Garden Wilson cleaned out my bird feeder and rehung it in the tree. The birds have been visiting off and on every day since the weekend. I took this picture from my living room’s sliding glass door.

Bird at my bird feeder

Bird at my bird feeder

Above the bird feeder, I saw a male cardinal on Sunday. I took this picture from my living room, too.

Male cardinal in my gum tree

Male cardinal in my gum tree

I think he knew I was taking his picture. Look at him pose for me!

Male cardinal looking at the camera

Male cardinal looking at the camera

My back yard has very little grass (and I’m okay with that). It’s mostly clover and herbs and wildflowers, and some of them are starting to bloom. The henbit is just opening up.

Henbit blooming

Henbit blooming

All the chickweed in my yard is starting to bloom, too. See the tiny white flowers? It’s sitting here among Carolina Geranium (the feathery leaves) and clover. (It’s odd that the clover hasn’t started blooming yet. It’s usually one of the first to bloom.)

Chickweed blooming

Chickweed blooming

On Sunday, I saw my first bee! It was a honeybee, flitting among the chickweed flowers (which is sitting among Florida Betony in this picture – I hate that weed!).

Honeybee on chickweed

Honeybee on chickweed

My apple trees have leaf buds now. The Pink Lady has fewer than the Granny Smith, and they’re mostly on the tips so far.

Pink Lady apple tree leaf buds

Pink Lady apple tree leaf buds

Granny Smith apple tree leaf buds

Granny Smith apple tree leaf buds

About two weeks ago, a couple of my tulips sent up grassy leaves (babies??). I was excited about that, for sure. However, this weekend, a few of my tulips sent up real leaves – meaning blooms are close at hand. Now, I’m thrilled!

Tulip coming up

Tulip coming up

I hope you enjoyed my signs of spring. If you’re one of my readers still in the throes of winter, be of good cheer. What is starting here in the South will move north before you know it!

What signs of spring do you see on your homestead?

Signature

 

 

 

2 comments on “Signs of Spring 2015

    • Thanks, Debbie I loved your post, too. I grew up in Rhode Island, so I understand the snow melt and excitement for signs of spring! That’s one thing I do miss, living in the South. We have only 2 seasons here: Summer and Not-summer. It did get pretty cool for extended periods of time here this year, so I can say we had a winter, of sorts.

      By the way, I love your garden table! Awesome! And your seed starting….mine didn’t go well this year. I have less than half the plants I should have by now. (They’re supposed to be planted outside in 2-3 weeks!) So, I’m starting all over again for my peppers and a few of my tomatoes. 😦 I’m trying something new to “speed up” germination; if it works, I’ll share it on my blog for everyone to try. If it doesn’t, well, I could be in trouble. We have full-on summer temps in May, and seedlings can’t handle the heat. I’m praying this works or I’ll be buying plants, which will limit my variety, for sure.

      The joys and trials of gardening, eh? Either way, it’s almost spring!!

Leave a Reply

