My New Bee House

My New Bee House pic

A couple of weeks ago, I posted an article about Mason Bees in the Garden. Shortly after that post, I decided to go ahead and order a mason bee house for my homestead, and it arrived a couple of days ago. 

When the box arrived, I ripped it open to see my new bee house. It’s just as beautiful as the picture on the website.

My mason bee house arrives

My mason bee house arrives

The past two days were very spring like, with a high temperature of 81 each day, so Wednesday was a perfect day to hang my bee house when I got home from work.

Mason bee houses should be hung at least three feet off the ground (but no higher than seven feet), and they should be hung against a solid object – a house, shed, tree, post, etc. The key is to be sure the house will not sway in the wind. It should also face in an easterly direction to get the morning sun, which will warm the bees after a cool evening. It will also prevent them from getting overheated in the afternoon sun.

One side of my shed faces due east, so it was the perfect place to hang my bee house. We inserted a screw in the wall and hung the bee house. It rests under an eave and hangs about 4 1/2 feet off the ground.

Mason bee house hanging on my shed

Mason bee house hanging on my shed

I’m looking forward to mason bees finding this house and laying eggs in the bamboo tubes over the next few weeks!

If you’d like to get one of these mason bee houses, you can order them from Gardener’s Supply. Made of natural bamboo, it will last one or two years, and comes with a metal hanger for a very reasonable price. I plan to order at least one every year!

Do you have a mason bee house on your homestead?

Signature

Leave a Reply

