How My Garden Grows in February 2015 ~ Part 1

It has been a very chilly February here in South Carolina. Of course, it’s nothing compared to New England, but we’re getting a true winter here this year. That said, my garden isn’t exactly a thriving expanse of green – unless you count the weeds. Pulling weeds, picking up gum tree seed balls (over and over and over again!), and doing other time-consuming gardening chores for long periods of time in 45 degree weather isn’t my idea of weekend fun. So, for the most part, I’m letting my plants do whatever they do the best they can. I cover my hoop tunnels when it’s supposed to go below freezing for more than an hour or two at night, I pull weeds when it’s warm enough to do so, and I make sure the beds get sufficient water. Other than that….hey, it’s winter – even in the South. Today, I’m sharing the first part of my monthly garden photos.

In my garden, I have 21 raised beds, 18 of which are on the side of my house. (The other 3 are along the back fence.) This first picture is looking down the side beds. (Click here to see how they looked last month.)

My side beds in February 2015

My side beds in February 2015

Here’s a closeup of the far end of the bed. Not too much change since last month, but the turnips are bigger (closest bed in the picture).

My side beds in February 2015 ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in February 2015 ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Lettuce

The frost got to my Red Romaine and Black Seeded Simpson lettuce, but a couple of the latter grew back, and the Red Romaine is looking a little healthier than last month. The Red Sails lettuce (on the right) is looking much better; I think it has held up better in the frost than any other lettuce, other than Reine des Glaces.

Bed 1 in February 2015 ~ Lettuce

Bed 1 in February 2015 ~ Lettuce

BED 2 – Fallow

The squirrels have tried digging in this bed, but I keep pushing the leaves over the holes again. Another few weeks, and there will be seed in this bed.

Bed 2 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 2 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 3 – Peas and spinach

I just can’t seem to get the spinach to grow this year for some reason. And my peas aren’t doing very well either. They’re bigger than last month, yes, but I’ll have to pull them all up in six weeks for spring planting. <sigh> I think I’m going to try growing Tom Thumb peas in lots of pots from now on.

Bed 3 in February 2015 ~ Peas & spinach

Bed 3 in February 2015 ~ Peas & spinach

BED 4 – Onions

With all the windy days we’ve had this month, the trellis in bed 3 fell on my onions three times! Fortunately, I think they’ll be okay. I just bought onion sets to fill in the gaps in the bed, and I’ll plant them this coming weekend. The onions don’t look as perky as they did last month, but I’m sure they’ll be fine. There’s also a critter hole on the right side of the bed. Not sure what did that.

Bed 4 in February 2015 ~ Onions

Bed 4 in February 2015 ~ Onions

BED 5 – Garlic

My garlic looks a bit rough compared to last month, but there has been a lot of freezing nights and they are in need of fertilizer. C’mon, spring!

Bed 5 in February 2015 ~ Garlic

Bed 5 in February 2015 ~ Garlic

BED 6 – Spinach and mustard greens

Again, I can’t seem to get spinach to grow this year. But my mustard greens are doing well. Some insects were starting to eat the leaves (and so, I wasn’t), but I think the cold has taken care of most of them. The leaves are starting to grow back nicely. I think it’s time to harvest some greens this weekend. (Click here to see how the bed looked last month.)

Bed 6 in February 2015 ~ Spinach & mustard greens

Bed 6 in February 2015 ~ Spinach & mustard greens

BED 7 – Fallow

When I pulled the rest of my turnips and radishes from this bed, I had no more leaves or grass clippings to cover it with. I’ll have to add extra compost to this bed next month to ready it for spring planting.

Bed 7 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 7 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

BED 8 – Radishes

I still have some more watermelon radishes in the ground, though you can see that I’ve pulled quite a few since last month.

Bed 8 in February 2015 ~ Radishes

Bed 8 in February 2015 ~ Radishes

BED 9 – Fallow

This bed is still fallow, awaiting seed in six more weeks!

Bed 9 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

Bed 9 in February 2015 ~ Fallow

To view pictures of the other half of my garden, see How My Garden Grows in February 2015 Part 2.

Meanwhile, stay warm!

Signature

4 comments on “How My Garden Grows in February 2015 ~ Part 1

  1. Love your raised beds. I’m sorry your winter is turning ugly on you. That can really mess up an ardent gardener. We have the opposite problem here in SE Washington State. It has been inordinately warm here and I’m afraid we will be beset upon by huge amounts of snails and slugs and other garden pests. But what can you do besides the best you can.

    • Hi, Betty,

      That is so true! Last year, our hot summer began in May with 90+ degree days. The pickle worms, which usually come up from Florida around August, arrived in June. My cucumber harvest was HALF what it was the previous year because of the pickle worms. Argh! But every year, spring brings the hope for better harvests! We garden on!

      Thanks for dropping by. Come back tomorrow for part 2 of my garden. 🙂
      Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

