How My Garden Grows in November ~ Part 2

Yesterday, in Part 1, I shared pictures of my garden and closeup pictures of raised beds 1-9. (If you missed it, click here.) Today, I’m sharing pictures of beds 10-20. Be sure to click on the included links to see how the beds looked last month.

BED 10 – Kale, escarole & arugula

Since last month, my kale has grown enough to start harvesting. (I harvest by the leaf.) I’ve already harvested the escarole and arugula a few times – and it’s time to harvest again.

Bed 10 in November ~ Kale, escarole & arugula

Bed 10 in November ~ Kale, escarole & arugula

BED 11 – Fallow

Last month, this bed held my snap beans. I pulled the plants last weekend, and this bed will now be seeded with a cover crop of Austrian winter peas and winter rye.

Bed 11 in November - Fallow, awaiting cover crop

Bed 11 in November – Fallow, awaiting cover crop

BED 12 – Swiss Chard & Fallow

This bed held my Peruvian lemon drop peppers last month. They’re gone now, and you can finally see my Swiss chard in the back of the bed. Well, the few plants that survived the brutal summer heat, anyway. (Let’s see if they survive the winter.) Now this bed is going to be seeded with peas and winter rye.

Bed 12 in November ~ Chard & fallow

Bed 12 in November ~ Chard & fallow

BED 12x – Fallow

This bed held my eggplant last month. I pulled all the plants last weekend…except a couple on the end. They were so large, the roots were too deep for me to pull them out. I had to get my Garden Wilson to pull them after I took this picture. (Speaking of the picture, I think that Garden Gremlin is back. What’s with the partial blur?)

Bed 12x in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover crop

Bed 12x in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover crop

BED 13 – Raspberries

Autumn has definitely touched my raspberries compared to last month. Soon, the leaves will fall, and I’ll be able to do a good weeding and add cow manure compost.

Bed 13 in November ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in November ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

The asparagus is starting to turn yellow. (Click here to see them last month.) Once the bulk of the fern is yellow, I’ll cut it down and cover the bed with cow manure compost. Three months and counting until I can harvest asparagus again. Yum! By the way, I love how the camera caught the rain drops on the fern.

Bed 14 in November ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in November ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Fallow

Last month, this bed held my butter peas, which I pulled last weekend. With the new hoop tunnel, I can plant lettuce and spinach in this bed (which I’ll do this weekend); that should give me lots of greens through the winter.

Bed 15 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting lettuce & spinach seed

Bed 15 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting lettuce & spinach seed

BED 16 – Carrots

Since last month, you can definitely see my carrots growing. However, you can also see where the carrots are NOT growing. Thanks to the squirrels using this bed as their main treasure chest for their acorns, most of my carrot seed never germinated. (You can see some of their holes in last month’s picture.) I’ll be replanting carrots this weekend because the hoop tunnel should keep them warm enough to grow.

Bed 16 in November ~ Carrots

Bed 16 in November ~ Carrots

BED 17 – Fallow

This bed held my lima beans last month. They produced from frost to frost, and I pulled them last weekend. This weekend, I’ll be planting more turnips and radishes to grow under the hoop tunnel through the winter.

Bed 17 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting turnip & radish seed

Bed 17 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting turnip & radish seed

BED 18 – Beets

Like the carrot bed, this bed has been another favorite for the squirrels to bury their acorns. (You can see the holes in last month’s picture.) I planted this bed twice, and I still have room to plant again – which I can do now because of the hoop tunnel. At least the beets that germinated are growing.

Bed 18 in November ~ Beets

Bed 18 in November ~ Beets

BED 19 – Fallow

Last month, this bed held my peanuts and extra pepper plants. I harvested the peanuts a few weeks ago and pulled the pepper plants last weekend. This bed will get a cover crop of peas and winter rye this weekend.

Bed 19 in November - Fallow, awaiting cover crop

Bed 19 in November – Fallow, awaiting cover crop

BED 20 – Turnips

Last month, this bed held a few tomato plants and peppers along with my newly planted turnips. I pulled the peppers last weekend, but couldn’t pull the tomato plants. I’m going to need my Garden Wilson’s strength to pull those stakes and remove the tomato plants. This bed is now filled with growing purple-top turnips. (Bed 6 has golden globe turnips.)

Bed 20 in November ~ Turnips

Bed 20 in November ~ Turnips

Again, if you missed the November pictures of my garden set up and beds 1-9, go to How My Garden Grows in November Part 1. Next month, I’ll post pictures of my beds again, but this time, as part of a slide show of my garden through the seasons of 2014.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

2 comments on “How My Garden Grows in November ~ Part 2

    • Thanks. So glad you’re enjoying my site.

      I have four raised beds under hoop tunnels/low tunnels. It’s my first year trying it. Usually, we don’t really need anything like that, but we’re in for an unseasonably cold winter this year. We’ve already had several killing frosts this month…earlier than normal. But we gardeners are a determined bunch, aren’t we?

      Grow on!

Leave a Reply

