How My Garden Grows in November ~ Part 1

What a change in the weather since last month’s edition of How My Garden Grows! We’ve just experienced our third night of frost this month with record low temperatures last night/this morning. I think we’re in for a cold winter here in the South. With that in mind, I built hoop tunnels over four of my raised beds. Planting will commence this weekend – more fall crops under the hoop tunnels and cover crops in the fallow beds. Things are changing in my 21-bed garden as winter approaches. Today, I’ll share part 1 of the November installment of my garden through the seasons.

As you look at the pictures of my beds (taken on a chilly, drizzly day), be sure to click the added links so you can see how they looked last month.

As many of you know, eighteen of my raised beds are along the side of my house. (The other three are along my back fence.) Here’s a picture looking down the side beds. Since last month, I’ve pulled all the summer crops and built hoop tunnels.

My side beds in November

My side beds in November

Here is the closeup of the far end of the side beds. I haven’t pulled my pumpkin vines yet (although they’re frost bitten), so the pumpkins can finish ripening (hopefully). Big difference from last month.

My side beds in November ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in November ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Lettuce

I’ve planted this bed twice, and the germination rate is obviously poor. At least, the lettuce I do have has grown since last month.

Bed 1 in November ~ Lettuce

Bed 1 in November ~ Lettuce

BED 2 – Pumpkins

All I have left in this bed are my Seminole pumpkins (no more melons or squash). I have about 15 or 16 pumpkins still on the vine, so I’m hoping they’ll ripen in spite of the cooler weather. What a difference one month has made in how my pumpkins look.

Bed 2 in November ~ Pumpkins

Bed 2 in November ~ Pumpkins

BED 3 – Fallow

I pulled all my chili peppers from this bed last weekend. (Click here to see them last month.) This coming weekend, I’m going to put a cover crop in this bed. I’m trying a mixture of Austrian winter peas and winter rye this year. (By the way, I have no idea what that small blur is in the middle of this picture. Garden Gremlin??)

Bed 3 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover crop

Bed 3 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover crop

BED 4 – Onions

In the back of the bed, I planted small onions I had harvested. They were too small to eat, so I planted them. (Wrong time of year for sets/bulbs, but it’s an experiment.) They are now up and growing well. The onion seed has germinated, too. If you look closely, you can see the fine grass-like seedlings in the bed. (Click here for last month’s picture.)

Bed 4 in November ~ Onions

Bed 4 in November ~ Onions

BED 5 – Garlic

Last month, this bed appeared empty. Now, my garlic is growing.

Bed 5 in November ~ Garlic

Bed 5 in November ~ Garlic

BED 6 – Brussels sprouts, spinach, & mustard greens

This bed also appeared empty last month. Now, I have mustard greens almost ready for harvesting (by the leaves), some spinach (poor germination – need to plant again), and brussels sprouts that have large leaves. I planted those too late, so I’m seriously thinking about digging them up and transplanting them under one of my hoop tunnels. Worth a try, eh?

Bed 6 in November ~ Brussels sprouts, spinach & mustard greens

Bed 6 in November ~ Brussels sprouts, spinach & mustard greens

BED 7 – Turnips & radishes

Look at the growth in this bed compared to last month. I’ve already harvested a few of my plum radishes. The other radishes are growing, and the turnips should be starting to “bulb up” soon.

Bed 7 in November ~ Turnips & radishes

Bed 7 in November ~ Turnips & radishes

BED 8 – Radishes

Another bed of radishes? You bet. This whole bed is planted with my favorite – watermelon radishes. Last month, all you could see were little seedlings. Now, they are full and starting to “bulb up” under the dirt. (I’ve also pulled the watermelon plant that was on the end of this bed.)

Bed 8 in November ~ Radishes

Bed 8 in November ~ Radishes

BED 9 – Fallow

Last month, this bed held my sweet peppers. I pulled them last weekend to make room for the cover crop of peas and winter rye I’ll be planting this coming weekend.

Bed 9 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover croop

Bed 9 in November ~ Fallow, awaiting cover crop

Click here to see Part 2 of how my garden grows in November.

Signature

3 comments on “How My Garden Grows in November ~ Part 1

    • Most of the major seed suppliers have it. Depends what you want. Last year, I used crimson clover, which I got from Peaceful Valley Farm Supply (www.groworganic.org). This year, I got my Austrian winter peas and winter rye from Southern Exposure Seed Exchange (www.southernexposure.com).

Leave a Reply

