2014 Coastal Carolina Fair ~ Part 1

I think we have the best county fair in the country. I’ve been to my share of county fairs, and the Coastal Carolina Fair rocks! Beyond the fair food and carnival rides, there is so much to do and see in the eleven days of the fair. Besides the competitions and 4-H shows, there is a different concert every night and nightly fireworks that rival the best Independence Day shows. I had so much fun, I took pictures to share with you.

Before I did a single thing at the fair, I ran to the Creative Arts and Flower buildings to see how I did in the canning competition and the horticultural competition. (Click the links if you missed the results.) After seeing that I won eleven first place awards, I was floating on air as I checked out the rest of the fair.

At some fairs I attended, I was leery of wearing anything but old shoes because the entire grounds were so messy. Not so at our fair. The grounds are not only well kept, but are beautifully decorated. Look at these autumn arrangements placed around the fairgrounds.

Harvest scarecrows at the fair

Harvest scarecrows near the concert stage

Scarecrow & flowers outside the Creative Arts building

Scarecrow & flowers outside the Creative Arts building

Harvest arrangement outside the agricultural building

Harvest arrangement outside the agricultural building

Although there were quite a few arrangements that brought the feel of autumn, it is still the Lowcountry and palmetto trees and pampas grass abound.

Palmetto trees at the fair

Palmetto trees at the fair

After the Danielle Bradbery concert (she was great, by the way), I took some night shots of our state tree and pampas grass around the concert stage.

SC state tree - the Palmetto tree at night

SC state tree – the Palmetto tree at night

Pampas grass & palmetto trees at the fair

Pampas grass & palmetto trees at the fair

Not to let the animals take all the attention, the fair staff showed off their brassicas in a raised bed at the entrance to the agricultural building.

Brassicas on display at the fair

Brassicas on display at the fair

This year’s flower show theme was “Tis the Season.” This beautiful display was outside the flower building.

Winter display outside the flower building

Winter display outside the flower building

Inside, I loved looking at all the talent on display – flower arrangements, wreaths, cut flowers and leaves, and freshly harvested fruits and vegetables. Here are two of my favorite arrangements this year.

Flower arrangement with palmetto leaves

Flower arrangement with palmetto leaves

Red rose arrangement

Red rose arrangement

For the past few years, an artist has been creating a patriotic sand sculpture at our fair. I’m not sure if it’s the same artist every year, but the talent is incredible. Here is this year’s sand sculpture. Powerful.

2014 Patriotic sand sculpture at the fair

2014 Patriotic sand sculpture at the fair

With all the walking around, I had to take a break on a bench outside the agricultural building.

Sanctuary Gardener herself, resting on a bench at the fair

Sanctuary Gardener herself, resting on a bench at the fair

Click here for part 2 of my county fair pictures – acrobats, animals, and fireworks!

Signature

Leave a Reply

