Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 11/8/14

Considering we’ve already had our first frost, I harvested quite a bit of produce this past week – including a wonderful surprise of raspberries (after I thought the canes were done for the year). My harvests included produce from summer and fall crops, something I just love seeing. I harvested my first key lime, over 5 ounces of raspberries, about a pound of eggplant, a pound of peanuts, a half pound of greens, over 1.5 pounds of beans, 3.5 pounds of peppers, 3/4 pound of radishes, and 10 pounds of pumpkins. Gosh, I love gardening!

All produce is identified from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST NOVEMBER 2:

I was surprised to see a handful of peppers on my Filius blue pepper plants. I thought they were kaput, but they’re hanging on.

Filius blue peppers

Filius blue peppers

I picked a few red peppers early (while still green) because it was going to get cold again that night. A couple of them have ripened on my dining room table. I’m hoping the other ones will, too.

Red bell peppers (unripe), Black Beauty eggplant,

Red bell peppers (unripe), Black Beauty eggplant, mini red bell peppers, Emerald giant green bell peppers, cubanelle peppers. In the center: jalapenos, mini yellow stuffing peppers, my mystery hot peppers

HARVEST NOVEMBER 3:

I love harvesting my pumpkins. I can’t wait to try them when I make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.

Seminole pumpkins

Seminole pumpkins

I’m still harvesting my butter peas and lima beans.

Dixie speckled butter peas

Dixie speckled butter peas

Henderson lima beans

Henderson lima beans

HARVEST NOVEMBER 7:

While watering my garden, I noticed a couple of spots of red among my raspberry canes. I thought I might find a couple of raspberries to pop in my mouth while I was doing my gardening chores. Afterall, the harvest was done a couple weeks ago, and we had our first frost. However, I found several canes with raspberries in various stages of maturity, and I harvested this little bin full. What a surprise! I ate these for breakfast for two days. YUMMY!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST NOVEMBER 8:

I harvested about a pound of peanuts from the eight or so plants that grew in my raised bed. It was an experiment, and now I know how to grow peanuts; but I don’t think this was a cost-effective crop to grow in one of my raised beds. Peanuts take up a lot of room to produce well. I did not get the “up to 50 peanuts per plant” by any stretch of the imagination. But, it was fun to grow once.

Schronce's deep black peanuts

Schronce’s deep black peanuts

I love being able to harvest greens to make a dinner salad.

Arugula & escarole

Arugula & escarole

I harvested my first fall radishes. And the greens were healthy enough to save to saute later.

Plum radishes

Plum radishes

More peppers, a pumpkin, and my first key lime of the year. (My trees spent most of the year trying to get their leaves back.)

Lemon drop peppers, Seminole pumpkin, mini red bell peppers, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing pepper, pepperoncini, fish peppers. In the center: key lime

Lemon drop peppers, Seminole pumpkin, mini red bell peppers, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing pepper, pepperoncini, fish peppers. In the center: key lime

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

 

 

Leave a comment