2014 County Fair Horticultural Competition Results

This year, I not only entered my canned goods into the county fair competition, but I also entered my garden produce. I’ve had some beautiful specimens among my garden produce, and I wanted to show them off – and maybe even win a ribbon or two. Yesterday, I shared with you the judges’ results in the canned goods competition. Today, I will ease your curiosity and share with you the judges’ results in the horticultural competition.

Unlike the competition for the creative arts (canning, baking, needlework, etc.), the judges for the horticultural competition do not award actual ribbons for first, second, and third place. Ribbons are given for specialty awards from various clubs and the fair itself. Instead, the judges give award stickers. Different presentation, but same bragging rights.

HERB DIVISION:

I entered only one herb in this part of the competition.

DILL – I entered one of the beautiful dill heads on my fernleaf dill and won first place.

Fernleaf dill - First place

Fernleaf dill – First place

HARVESTED VEGETABLES DIVISION:

HENDERSON LIMA BEANS – I didn’t win anything for my lima beans. They were nice enough to enter, but I’m not disappointed that they didn’t win.

BLACK BEAUTY EGGPLANT – I checked on this baby for a week, praying it would stay in perfect condition until the fair. I was so proud to put this on a plate for the judges, and they gave me first place.

Black Beauty eggplant - First place

Black Beauty eggplant – First place

BLACK VALENTINE GREEN BEANS – The Azomite (rock dust) I put in my soil this year has given me longer and bigger snap beans. These are the biggest green beans I’ve ever grown, and the judges gave me first place.

Black Valentine green beans - First place

Black Valentine green beans – First place

BEURRE DE ROCQUENCOURT WAX BEANS – Just like my green beans, these are the longest and biggest wax beans I’ve ever grown. The judges liked these as well and awarded me first place.

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans - First place

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans – First place

MINI RED BELL PEPPERS – I love these peppers. I actually thought I was getting something else when I bought the seed, but I am quite happy with these little guys. The judges were, too. Yep, another first place.

Mini red bell peppers - First place

Mini red bell peppers – First place

CUBANELLE PEPPERS – I didn’t plan to enter any of these peppers, but the day I harvested for the competition, they looked too pretty to leave out. So, I entered them. I’m glad I did. The judges gave me first place.

Cubanelle peppers - First place

Cubanelle peppers – First place

LEMON DROP PEPPERS – These are my pride and joy, as well as my favorite chili pepper. I think the judges liked them a little too much; one of them is missing! (Munch, munch) Well, I don’t mind. I won yet another first place.

Lemon drop peppers - First place

Lemon drop peppers – First place

I am so excited about my first foray into the horticultural competition. With eight entries, I won seven first place awards! That’s in addition to the five first place ribbons I won for my canned goods. (See “Canned Goods Competition Results.”) That’s 12 first place awards this year!! Yep, this country Yankee gal is pretty proud of herself.

Now, I’ll be off to the fair to have some fun! Next week, I’ll share some photos of the fair itself.

Have you ever entered your produce in a competition? If so, how many ribbons did you win?

Signature

 

 

3 comments on “2014 County Fair Horticultural Competition Results

Leave a Reply

