Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 11/1/14

I had a banner week harvesting in the garden! Most of the past week was in the 80s, and my plants were displaying their best fruit just in time for the county fair. Unfortunately, the cold is coming a couple weeks earlier than normal, so this may be my last big harvest week of the year (at least, until the fall crops mature). I harvested 4 tomatoes, a handful of greens, over 3.5 pounds of snap beans (my last of the year), almost 3 pounds of eggplant, almost 6 pounds of winter squash, and over 12 pounds of peppers!

Produce is identified from the top clockwise.

HARVEST OCTOBER 28:

While I wait for my lettuce to mature, I can harvest my arugula and escarole. In a week or so, I’ll be able to start harvesting some kale leaves.

Arugula & escarole

Arugula & escarole

HARVEST OCTOBER 29:

I picked the last large snap bean harvest of the year.

Black Valentine beans & Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans

Black Valentine beans & Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans

Now this is a pepper harvest!

Emerald Giant green bell peppers, cubanelle peppers,

Emerald Giant green bell peppers, cubanelle peppers, cayenne peppers, my mystery hot pepper, mini yellow stuffing peppers, fish peppers, red bell peppers. In the center: mini red bell peppers.

Eggplants at the end of October…love it!

Listada de Gandia eggplant, Black Beauty eggplant, lemon drop peppers, jalapenos

Listada de Gandia eggplant, Black Beauty eggplant, lemon drop peppers, jalapenos

HARVEST OCTOBER 31:

I’m hoping I’ll be able to harvest a lot more of my pumpkins before the hard frosts come.

Seminole pumpkin & Black futsu squash

Seminole pumpkin & Black futsu squash

A few more peppers….

Lemon drop peppers, my

Lemon drop peppers, my mystery hot peppers, fish peppers, & cayenne peppers

The absolute last of the snap beans; I harvested just as much in the fall as I did with my spring planting. And even more peppers…

Giant emerald green bell peppers,

Giant emerald green bell peppers, mini red bell peppers, cubanelle peppers, Black Valentine green beans, Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Henderson lima beans. In the center: pepperoncini

HARVEST NOVEMBER 1:

These tomatoes aren’t ripe yet, but I was concerned the 37 degree weather forecast for the night might hurt them. They’re ripening on my windowsill. Tomatoes in November!

Wisconsin tomatoes

Wisconsin tomatoes

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

