Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 11/3/14

This had to be the craziest weather week I’ve ever seen! Early in the week, we had high temperatures of 85-87 degrees. By Saturday afternoon, it was 38 degrees! I bet my poor plants don’t know what season it is. The tomatoes, peppers, and eggplant are not liking the cold snap – which is about three weeks early – and I’m unsure how my pumpkin and squash vines are going to handle the drastic change. Knowing a cold front was coming early, I hustled to build hoop tunnels over four of my raised beds on Friday. (I also had to hurry to get to the fair – and see if I won any ribbons. 😉 I’ll let you know on Wednesday.) I have all kinds of things going on in my garden now – summer crops on the way out, fall crops sprouting and growing, and hoop tunnels keeping beans alive and making way for winter growing. No matter what the weather throws at me, I’m determined to keep gardening.

WHAT’S NEW:

The spinach seed I planted around my handful of brussels sprouts is starting to germinate.

Bloomsdale spinach seedling ~ 19 days after planting

Bloomsdale spinach seedling ~ 19 days after planting

When I harvested my onions in the late spring, I had quite a few very small bulbs of white, yellow, and red onions. I put them in a bowl on the counter to dry, then never used them. Although it’s not time to plant onion bulbs or sets (it’s time to plant onion seed), I decided to give it a try. I couldn’t do much else with those small onions. Well, they’re sprouting!

Onions sprouting from bulbs ~ 12 days after planting

Onions sprouting from bulbs ~ 12 days after planting

The onion seed I planted (Red Creole and Barbosa) are starting to germinate, too.

Barbosa onion seedlings ~ 12 days after planting

Barbosa onion seedlings ~ 12 days after planting

And my Italian softneck garlic is sprouting.

Garlic sprouting ~ 12 days after planting

Garlic sprouting ~ 12 days after planting

IN THE GARDEN:

While harvesting this past week, I found two lady bugs. One was on my lemon drop peppers, and this one was on my lima beans. I love these in my garden.

Lady bug on lima beans

Lady bug on lima beans

My plum radishes are starting to bulb up. I’ll be eating some of these real soon.

Plum radish bulbing

Plum radish bulbing

Unlike my radishes, my peppers are not liking the colder nights. My sweet peppers have dropped almost half their leaves.

Pepper leaves falling due to cold nights

Pepper leaves falling due to cold nights

As I mentioned above, on Friday, we scrambled to get supplies and build my first hoop houses over four of my beds. I wanted to cover my lima beans and butter peas so I could get the last harvest from them in a week or so. The other two beds have my beets and carrots – which I have to replant more of because the squirrels keep digging them up by burying their acorns in my beds. (It’s so late in the season, they won’t grow well if I don’t cover them.)

Here are my newly made hoop tunnels. (To learn how, click here.)

Finished hoop tunnels

Finished hoop tunnels

Before we put the plastic sheeting on the hoops, I took this picture looking through the hoops on all four beds.

Garden hoops

Garden hoops

IN THE KITCHEN:

I was busy in the kitchen this week. I put up over three pounds of snap beans and about a dozen bell peppers, and also made a batch of hot pepper jam.

Snap beans ready for the freezer

Snap beans ready for the freezer

Bell peppers ready for the freezer

Bell peppers ready for the freezer

Hot pepper jam

Hot pepper jam

I harvested quite a bit this past week. Click here to see my garden bounty.

What’s happening in your garden and kitchen?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

