Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 10/27/14

It was another mild – and dry – week in the garden. Still no rain and none in the forecast for another ten days. If nothing changes, at month’s end, my garden log will record only 1.1″ of rain the entire month of October. Meanwhile, my water bill increases. But that’s okay. The seedlings are growing, and the plants are fruiting. There’s about four weeks left until first frost here. Maybe we’ll have a little more time this year? We’ll see.

WHAT’S NEW:

The mustard seedlings are up. A few even have their first permanent leaves.

Mustard greens seedling ~ 2 weeks after planting

Mustard greens seedling ~ 2 weeks after planting

IN THE GARDEN:

My peanuts are almost ready to harvest. Like potatoes, the plant turns yellow when the peanuts are ready.

Peanuts almost ready to harvest

Peanuts almost ready to harvest

Meanwhile, my lima beans are still flowering.

Lima beans flowering

Lima beans flowering

My kale and radishes are growing well.

Scotch curled kale ~ 5 weeks after planting

Scotch curled kale ~ 5 weeks after planting

Radishes ~ 3 weeks after planting

Radishes ~ 3 weeks after planting

My red sails lettuce seems to be growing the best so far. It seems I’m having trouble with my lettuce germinating this year, not to mention it’s slow growing when it does germinate.

Red sails lettuce ~ 5 weeks after planting

Red sails lettuce ~ 5 weeks after planting

My scarlet kale seedlings are growing their first real leaves.

Scarlet kale seedling ~ 3 weeks after planting

Scarlet kale seedling ~ 3 weeks after planting

Although my asparagus fern is starting to turn yellow (as autumn progresses), it’s producing seed.

Asparagus seed

Asparagus seed

I can’t believe I have tomatoes in October! This is the latest I’ve ever been able to grow tomatoes. They’re few in number, but I’m still thankful.

Wisconsin tomatoes ~ in October!

Wisconsin tomatoes ~ in October!

My pumpkin vines are amazing. On two vines, I counted 19 pumpkins growing. And the vine strength is impressive. This large one is still hanging on to the fence.

Seminole pumpkin

Seminole pumpkin

In the spring, I planted fernleaf dill among my squash and pumpkins. This one is flowering beautifully.

Fernleaf dill

Fernleaf dill

When I transplanted my sage to my front walkway, it didn’t do well. However, after feeding it with organic fertilizer and Azomite (rock dust), it has bounced back.

Sage

Sage

My oregano wasn’t growing well either until I fertilized and added Azomite. Now it’s green and spreading.

Hot & Spicy oregano

Hot & Spicy oregano

IN THE KITCHEN:

This week, I took the 7 pounds of raspberries I had in my freezer from my first harvest on these new canes (Caroline raspberries) and made two batches of raspberry preserves – just in time for entry into the county fair. I think this is the best raspberry preserves I’ve made yet. We’ll see if the judges think so.

Raspberry preserves

Raspberry preserves

To see the Garden Bounty I harvested this past week, click here.

What’s happening in your garden and kitchen?

Signature

Leave a Reply

