Pasta with Basil Pesto Cream Sauce

Pasta with basil pesto cream sauce pic

Remember all the basil I harvested a couple of weeks ago? I originally planned to dehydrate it for use in the winter, but the day after I harvested it I received a gift of a bag of pine nuts. Basil….pine nuts…yep, pesto! Then, my mind got to thinking about pasta, so I just had to combine the pesto and the pasta. Hands down, this was THE best meal from a new recipe! My beau told me it was Four-Star Restaurant quality. <blush> I figured I should share it with you so you can get the same compliment.

PASTA WITH BASIL PESTO CREAM SAUCE

(Note: I found a recipe online that I modified a bit; you can find the original recipe here.)

  • 1 cup basil pesto (for the recipe I used to make mine from scratch, click here)
  • 2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 1 pound (or 1 box) bow-tie pasta (cooked)

1. Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add pesto and mix into the oil, stirring constantly.

2. When the pesto begins to bubble, slowly pour the cream into the pan as you stir. Mix well.

3. When the cream sauce begins to bubble again, turn down the heat a bit and add the parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Stir well until the cheese has melted.

4. Drain the bow-tie pasta and add to a serving bowl. Pour the cream sauce over the pasta and toss well.

Serves 3-4

Serve as a side with chicken, or double the recipe and serve as the main course with a salad.

Enjoy,

Signature

2 comments on “Pasta with Basil Pesto Cream Sauce

Leave a Reply

