How My Garden Grows in October ~ Part 1

I can finally say the fall planting is done! I may add a little more spinach when I pull my peanut plants in a week or two – and maybe some more lettuce. Otherwise, DONE! For those of you who are new to my site, I have 21 raised beds, 18 of which are on the side of my house. Every month since spring planting, I’ve been sharing pictures of my garden’s side beds as well as each individual bed. Today is part 1 of the October installment of my garden through the seasons. I have also included links to how the raised beds looked last month, so you can see the changes.

Here’s a picture looking down my side yard where the 18 beds are. There’s a bit of a difference from last month – the tomatoes are gone, and several new things have been planted.

My side beds in October

My side beds in October

Here is a closeup of the far end of those side beds. You can see the pumpkin vines all over the fence in the background. (The pumpkin vines are longer than they were last month.)

My side beds in October ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in October ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Lettuce

Last month, I had just planted my lettuce seed. Unfortunately, a couple gully-washer rain storms came a few days later and obviously washed all my seed away because hardly anything grew. So, I replanted. I’m still waiting for more to germinate; I have a few seedlings, if you look closely, but not nearly what I should have.

Bed 1 in October ~ Lettuce

Bed 1 in October ~ Lettuce

BED 2: Pumpkins & squash

My squash and pumpkins are still producing – especially the pumpkins! (Click here to see them last month.)

Bed 2 in October ~ Pumpkins & squash

Bed 2 in October ~ Pumpkins & squash

BED 3 – Chili peppers

Compared to last month, you can see I’ve lost a couple pepper plants and some of them are still a little scrawny from the effects of the brutal summer heat. However, I still have plants, so I’m doing better than most of my gardening friends around here. By the way, you can see my pumpkin vines growing all around the pepper bed. See the new pumpkin hanging from the fence at the top of the picture?

Bed 3 in October ~ Chili peppers

Bed 3 in October ~ Chili peppers

BED 4 – Onions

This past weekend, I planted Red Creole and Barbosa (yellow) onions in this bed. Last month, it was fallow. You can see more of my pumpkin vines around this bed, too. Those vines are HUGE!

Bed 4 in October ~ Onions newly planted

Bed 4 in October ~ Onions newly planted

BED 5 – Garlic

I am so proud to say that 100% of the garlic I planted in this bed this past weekend was from my own harvest. I’m a real farmer now, eh? (Click here to see the bed last month.)

Bed 5 in October ~ Garlic newly planted

Bed 5 in October ~ Garlic newly planted

BED 6 – Brussels sprouts, spinach, & mustard greens

I planted the brussels sprouts last month, and only 4 came up. So, a week ago, I planted Bloomsdale spinach in between the four seedlings I have. In the front part of the bed, I planted mustard greens the same day.

Bed 6 in October ~ Brussels sprouts, and newly planted spinach & mustard greens

Bed 6 in October ~ Brussels sprouts, and newly planted spinach & mustard greens

BED 7 – Turnips & radishes

Since last month’s picture, I planted Golden Globe turnips in the back of the bed and several kinds of radishes in the front (Beer, Daikon, Icicle, and Plum). They’re growing well.

Bed 7 in October ~ Turnips & radishes

Bed 7 in October ~ Turnips & radishes

BED 8 – Radishes & watermelon

I know – strange combination in the same bed. This was my melon bed, which was pretty much kaput as of last month. However, my early moonbeam watermelon started growing again – and even has two melons on the vine – so I left it in the bed. I then planted the entire bed with watermelon radishes – my absolute favorite!

Bed 8 in October ~ Radishes & watermelon

Bed 8 in October ~ Radishes & watermelon

BED 9 – Sweet peppers

My sweet peppers are starting to produce more, now that the weather has cooled off. I think they’re looking a little bit better than they did last month.

Bed 9 in October ~ Sweet peppers

Bed 9 in October ~ Sweet peppers

For pictures of the rest of my garden, see How My Garden Grows Part 2.

Signature

Leave a Reply

