Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 10/11/14

Finally, my harvests are “picking up.” The cooler weather has given relief, especially to my peppers. We also had quite a bit of rain in September, which helped. (Unfortunately, we have now had two weeks without rain, so out comes the garden hose again.) In addition to my pepper harvests increasing, my second crop of snap beans are now producing. This is in addition to my Dixie speckled butter peas and raspberries. Harvesting is my favorite part of gardening! This past week, I harvested 4.3 pounds of peppers, 4 pounds of beans, 3/4 pound of raspberries, and one tomato. (Hey, it’s October. I’m grateful I have ANY tomatoes!)

Produce identification is listed from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST OCTOBER 5:

My raspberries are starting to wind down. I have a few canes still fruiting, but the end is near. I can’t be too sad though because I have close to 7 pounds of raspberries in my freezer for making preserves next week!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST OCTOBER 8:

Caroline raspberries & mini yellow stuffing peppers

Caroline raspberries & mini yellow stuffing peppers

HARVEST OCTOBER 10:

I harvested my first basket of snap beans from my second planting. I love harvesting beans in the fall!

Black Valentine green beans & Buerre de Rocquencourt wax beans

Black Valentine green beans & Buerre de Rocquencourt wax beans

I harvested quite a bit of butter peas, too. Yummy!

Dixie speckled butter peas

Dixie speckled butter peas

While helping me harvest my snap beans, my Garden Wilson broke a branch off of one of my lemon drop pepper plants. No worries, though. The unripe peppers are still pretty spicy, so into the pepper relish they will go.

Lemon drop peppers (unripe) & Caroline raspberries

Lemon drop peppers (unripe) & Caroline raspberries

HARVEST OCTOBER 11:

I pulled up the summer savory and basil in one of my beds to make room for the turnips. The basil plants looked pretty worn out, but I was still able to get quite a bit of good leaves. I see pesto in my future!

Summer savory & basil

Summer savory & 3 kinds of basil

My lemon drop peppers are the most prolific peppers in the garden!

Lemon drop peppers

Lemon drop peppers

Peppers and more peppers! Oh, and one tomato. 😉

Jalapenos, cubanelle peppers, fish peppers, my mystery hot peppers, pepperoncini, mini red bell peppers, Wisconsin tomato, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, red bell pepper. In the center: Emerald Giant green bell peppers

Jalapenos, cubanelle peppers, fish peppers, my mystery hot peppers, pepperoncini, mini red bell peppers, Wisconsin tomato, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, red bell pepper. In the center: Emerald Giant green bell peppers

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

