How My Garden Grows in September ~ Part 1

Here it is…my garden in transition. It’s the change of seasons, and the fall planting is commencing – finally. I haven’t completed all the planting yet; a few crops have to wait until October, and the rest will be completed this coming weekend. I still have some garden cleanup to do, as well. It’s been raining on the weekends, which has slowed the process down some. But we needed the rain, so who’s complaining? I’m also grateful that the temperatures are now normal for this time of year down here. My garden should soon start perking up, and seedlings should start peeking through the soil. Today, I’m sharing with you pictures of half my garden; part 2 will follow on Friday. Be sure to check out my links to what each bed looked like last month.

I have 21 raised beds in my garden. It’s more like a suburban farm, I think. I have three beds along my back fence and the other 18 beds arranged on the side of my backyard. Here is a picture of my side yard beds taken from the end, looking down. You can tell how the garden has been beaten down by the intense heat of summer when compared to how it looked in August.

My side beds in September

My side beds in September

Here’s a closeup of my side beds, from the far end. Compared to August’s picture, you can see that the tomatoes have been removed and many of my plants look a little worse for wear. But, they’re flowering again, so I’ll be harvesting baskets full soon.

My side beds in September ~ closeup of the far end

My side beds in September ~ closeup of the far end

BED 1 – Lettuce

This past weekend, I planted lettuce in this bed – Tom Thumb, Red Romaine, Black Seeded Simpson, and Red Sails. I mulched with grass clippings. (Gotta love that free mulch!) It may look as fallow as in August’s picture, but there’s magic happening under that mulch.

Bed 1 in September ~ Lettuce newly sown

Bed 1 in September ~ Lettuce newly sown

BED 2 – Pumpkins and melons

This bed actually looks better than it did last month! I cleaned out all the dead squash and melon vines, leaving one cantaloupe and one strawberry melon vine that are both reviving. Then, the pumpkins just seemed to take over all of a sudden!

Bed 2 in September ~ Pumpkins & melons

Bed 2 in September ~ Pumpkins & melons

BED 3 – Chili peppers

Although my chili peppers have grown since last month, they don’t look quite as healthy. For some reason, the chili peppers were affected by the intense summer heat more than any of my other crops. But I believe they’ll bounce back soon, and next month’s photo will show strong, healthy plants. By the way, check out the pumpkin vine that has grown down the left side of this bed, up the fence, and down the right side of this bed!

Bed 3 in September ~ Chili peppers

Bed 3 in September ~ Chili peppers

BED 4 – Fallow

This bed has been fallow since I pulled my corn stalks, but I will plant white and red onions here in a couple of weeks. Obviously, there’s been no change in this bed since last month, though you can see I harvested those two pumpkins. Also, check out the pumpkin vine behind and on the side of this bed. That is one HUGE pumpkin vine!

Bed 4 in September ~ Fallow, waiting for onions

Bed 4 in September ~ Fallow, waiting for onions

BED 5 – Fallow

Like last month, this bed is still fallow. But not for much longer. My Italian softneck garlic will get planted here next month. As you’ll notice, I have mirrors scattered throughout my garden, thanks to my Garden Wilson. It seems, I got a piece of me in this picture….yep, me in my garden threads.

Bed 5 in September ~ Fallow, waiting on garlic

Bed 5 in September ~ Fallow, waiting for garlic

BED 6 – Brussels sprouts & fallow

This past weekend, I planted half the bed with Long Island Improved Brussels Sprouts. It’s a month late for planting brussels sprouts here, but it was way too hot to plant them until now. (I never did start them in my grow room like I planned to.) But, they don’t mind mild frosts, and I can always invest in my first row cover, so I thought I’d take a chance. In the rest of the bed, I’ll plant mustard greens next month. I mulched the entire bed with grass clippings. (Click here to see the bed last month when it held my failing paste tomatoes.)

Bed 6 in September ~ Brussels Sprouts (back half) & fallow front half awaiting mustard greens

Bed 6 in September ~ Brussels Sprouts (back half) & fallow front half awaiting mustard greens

BED 7 – Fallow

I pulled my slicing tomatoes a week ago, so this bed is now fallow. (Click here to see the tomatoes last month, as they were pulling down the stakes.) This coming weekend, I’ll be planting radishes and golden globe turnips in this bed.

Bed 7 in September ~ Fallow, awaiting radishes & turnips

Bed 7 in September ~ Fallow, awaiting radishes & turnips

BED 8 – Watermelons

This bed looked a mess last month, but I weeded and cleaned up the dead melon vines. Since then, another melon has died (I’ll clean that up this coming weekend). However, I still have a couple of watermelon vines growing and flowering. I’ll be planting watermelon radishes in and around the melons this weekend.

Bed 8 in September ~ Watermelons

Bed 8 in September ~ Watermelons

BED 9 – Sweet peppers & lettuce

Since last month, I pulled the bolted/seeded lettuce out of the bed. You can see that my sweet peppers have done better in the heat than my chili peppers. This past weekend, I planted butter crunch lettuce in the front where I had pulled sickly looking pepper plants a couple months ago.

Bed 9 in September ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

Bed 9 in September ~ Sweet peppers & lettuce

Please see How My Garden Grows in September Part 2.

Signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

