Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 9/20/14

This past week was a slow one as far as harvests are concerned. However, we received over three inches of rain, and the temperatures have dropped below 90 degrees on a regular basis now. My plants are breathing a sigh of relief…and are flowering and fruiting. So, the harvests will be increasing soon! In spite of it all, I did harvest 2 pounds of pear tomatoes, 3.5 pounds of peppers, and about 3/4 pound of raspberries. Take a look.

The produce identification is listed from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 14:

My raspberries are ripening daily. Some days, the harvest is huge and some days, it’s smaller. But I’m harvesting several times a week.

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 17:

More raspberries!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 19:

Finally, some peppers. Small, but at least I got some!

Cubanelle peppers,

Cubanelle peppers, red bell peppers, pepperoncini, mini red bell peppers, jalapenos, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing pepper, fish peppers, Emerald Giant green bell peppers. In the center: Caroline raspberries.

I harvested some green and purple basil and dehydrated it. I’ll be pulling some of my basil plants this weekend to make room for turnips, so more basil drying is on the schedule.

Purple & Genovese basil, rocoto pepper, lemon drop peppers

Purple & Genovese basil, rocoto pepper, lemon drop peppers

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 20:

I pulled up almost all of my tomato plants. Surprise of surprises…I found over 150 pear tomatoes in the process! I picked them, unripe and all. I put them in a paper bag to ripen. As they start to turn red, I’ll take them out of the bag and put them on my window sill to finish ripening.

Pear tomatoes

Pear tomatoes

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

