Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 9/13/14

As I mentioned in yesterday’s update, things are slow in the garden. I believe my plants are spending most of their energy trying to survive, which is fine by me! The only crops that are giving me good harvests are the lemon drop peppers and the raspberries. This past week, I harvested a half-pound eggplant, 1 pound of peppers, and 1.5 pounds of raspberries. Not many pictures to look at, but with cooler weather around the corner, more is coming!

Produce identification is listed from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 7:

If it weren’t for my raspberries, I’d be quite sad over the minimal harvesting in the garden right now.

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 9:

Look at all those raspberries! The lemon drop pepper plants are loaded with peppers still to ripen, too.

Cubanelle peppers, my mystery hot pepper, cayenne peppers, Caroline raspberries, lemon drop peppers

Cubanelle peppers, my mystery hot pepper, cayenne peppers, Caroline raspberries, lemon drop peppers

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 12:

My little engine that could garden is trying so hard to provide for us.

Listada de Gandia eggplant, fish peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, cayenne peppers, lemon drop peppers, Caroline raspberries

Listada de Gandia eggplant, fish peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, cayenne peppers, lemon drop peppers, Caroline raspberries

No, my harvests this past week weren’t anything to brag about – based on quantity, anyway. But my plants are trying to bounce back from the stress of an exceptionally long, hot, and dry summer. I know more is coming before frost.

Now, if I can just get the fall crops in the ground….

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

