Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 9/15/14

It was a slow week in the garden this past week. I didn’t get to do as much as needed to be done. I did get to weed, feed, and mineralize my established plants. The plan was to then spend Sunday prepping the fallow beds for the (belated due to the heat) fall planting, but it rained overnight and drizzled off and on during the day. So, that didn’t get done. (Guess what I’ll be doing after work this week?) After the rain and a few degrees cooler weather (upper 80s rather than mid 90s), my garden is starting to respond. My pepper plants are hanging on – the chilis barely – and I’ve even got some new signs of life in the garden.

WHAT’S NEW:

While weeding the garden, I noticed a couple of my peanut plants had stems that couldn’t reach the dirt and created some peanuts in the open air. Here’s one of the peanuts growing. (I tried to stick this one in the dirt afterwards.) Cool, huh?

Peanut growing

Peanut growing

I also found this leading up to one of my raised beds. It’s not the first time I’ve seen one of these in that area. Moles? Voles? Argh!

Critter tunnel

Critter tunnel

IN THE GARDEN:

Throughout the garden, I have bags of cow manure compost waiting to be added to my fallow beds – along with Azomite (to re-mineralize the soil) and organic fertilizer.

Cow manure compost for the garden

Cow manure compost for the garden

My Caroline raspberries continue to ripen. I now have 6 large containers of raspberries in the freezer, awaiting preserve making time.

Raspberries ripening

Raspberries ripening

My pumpkin vines are doing great, despite the heat. This section is three beds away from where it was planted!

Seminole pumpkin vine

Seminole pumpkin vine

Just when I thought I had no more life left in my melons, they surprise me. Look at this.

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon baby

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon baby

Early Moonbeam watermelon flowers

Early Moonbeam watermelon flowers

Cantaloupe flowers

Cantaloupe flowers

IN THE KITCHEN:

I finally finished getting all the kernels off the cob of my Glass Gem corn harvest. (And I’ve got the blisters on my hands to prove it. Ouch!) After saving seed to plant next year, I had two large containers full of popcorn. I’ll let you know how well it pops.

Glass Gem popcorn harvest 2014

Glass Gem popcorn harvest 2014

Although things are slow in the garden right now, I did harvest a basket or two this past week. Come back tomorrow to see pictures of this past week’s Garden Bounty.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

