Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 9/6/14

After weeks without rain, we finally got a bit of it. My garden was so thirsty! However, the heat and humidity are still oppressive. My harvests are still small in quantity and in size, but I call my plants the “little engine that could” garden because they’re trying hard to continually give me something to harvest. This past week, I harvested a little over 3.5 pounds of eggplant, 3 pounds of watermelon, 1.2 pounds of raspberries, and a little over 1.5 pounds of peppers.

The produce in the pictures is identified from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST AUGUST 31:

A few peppers and a bucket of raspberries.

Caroline raspberries, pepperoncini, cayenne peppers, mini yellow stuffing pepper, fish peppers, lemon drop peppers

Caroline raspberries, pepperoncini, cayenne peppers, my mystery hot pepper, mini yellow stuffing pepper, fish peppers, lemon drop peppers

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 2:

The raspberry canes are showing signs of stress with leaves that are drying up, but they’re still producing lots of berries for me. There are still dozens of flower clusters on the canes, too.

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 4:

This was a rather good day for harvests.

Caroline raspberries, mini red bell peppers, lemon drop peppers, Emerald Giant green bell peppers, Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

Caroline raspberries, mini red bell peppers, lemon drop peppers, Emerald Giant green bell peppers, Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

Black beauty eggplant, jalapenos, fish peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, cayenne peppers, pepperoncini, rocoto peppers. In the center: cubanelle peppers

Black beauty eggplant, jalapenos, fish peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, cayenne peppers, pepperoncini, my mystery hot peppers. In the center: cubanelle peppers

HARVEST SEPTEMBER 5:

I’ve just started my 5th container of raspberries in the freezer – to make raspberry preserves. Every day, I add a little more to the frozen batch. I can’t wait to have enough for preserves!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

Leave a Reply

