Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 8/30/14

It was another incredibly hot week here…with no end in sight. As of this weekend, it’s also been three weeks since my garden has seen rain. Needless to say, my poor plants are struggling to survive. Even with my watering, it’s been tough on them. However, my sweet babies have continued to give me something in a way of harvest – even if the fruit is small. This past week, I’ve harvested 1.75 pounds of raspberries, almost a half pound of small melons, almost 1.5 pounds of squash, 2 pounds of pumpkin, a little over half a pound of tomatoes, 3.5 pounds of eggplant, and 2.75 pounds of peppers (mostly chiles). My garden is like the Little Engine that Could!

In the photos, produce is identified from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST AUGUST 24:

Look at these raspberries. They not only look beautiful, but they taste like heaven!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

Not such a bad harvest day.

Black beauty eggplant, Listada de Gandia eggplant, red bell peppers,

Black beauty eggplant, Listada de Gandia eggplant, red bell peppers, Emerald Giant green bell pepper, cubanelle pepper, mini yellow stuffing pepper, fish peppers, jalapenos, pepperoncini, cayenne peppers. In the center: lemon drop peppers

HARVEST AUGUST 25:

Small harvest day, but at least my garden is still giving.

Rich sweetness melon,

Rich sweetness melon, lemon drop peppers, fish peppers, my mystery hot pepper, mini yellow stuffing pepper, mini red bell peppers, Caroline raspberries

HARVEST AUGUST 26:

Not a bad day for harvesting.

Pepperoncini,

Pepperoncini, fish peppers, lemon drop peppers, jalapenos, Wisconsin tomatoes, Carolina raspberries, rich sweetness melon, cayenne peppers

HARVEST AUGUST 27:

I think this may be my last Black Futsu squash. I believe all the vines have died now – unless there’s a vine I don’t know about, intertwined with my pumpkins vines.

Black futsu squash, Caroline raspberries, Wisconsin tomato

Black futsu squash, Caroline raspberries, Wisconsin tomato

HARVEST AUGUST 29:

This day’s raspberry harvest wouldn’t fit in my mini galvanized basket! This is over a half pound of raspberries!

Caroline raspberries

Caroline raspberries

Not a bad haul for a brutal end-of-summer day.

Seminole pumpkin,

Seminole pumpkin, red bell peppers, mini yellow stuffing peppers, rocoto peppers, Wisconsin tomato, mini red bell peppers, Emerald Giant green bell pepper, cayenne pepper, jalapenos, fish peppers. In the center: lemon drop peppers

Hopefully, we’ll get some rain this week and the temperature will cool off some. I can’t plant any of my fall crops (too hot) or fertilize or anything. <sigh> Makes for one sad gardener.

How’s your garden doing? What are you harvesting?

Signature

 

 

2 comments on “Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 8/30/14

  1. I feel your pain! However, Summerville got a nice rainfall yesterday.
    My raspberries are shriveling on the vine. The Carolinas look terrible, the Bristols have produced nothing. The Annes are producing berries, but not ripening well. I think I fertilized them too much which produced weak, non heat resistant growth and too many berries that did not mature well.

    • I have Caroline raspberries. The lower leaves are yellowing and scorched, but I started watering them last week. The berries are coming in fairly well – especially as this is my first harvest on these new canes.

      We didn’t get a drop of rain yesterday – just “dry thunder.” It’s been 3 weeks without rain! In my log, I was comparing Jan-Aug 2013 to Jan-Aug 2014, and my yard has received 20 INCHES LESS RAIN this year compared to last year so far! And last August we had 9 days of 90+ temperatures compared to 22 days (I think – I’m not at home) of 90+. No wonder our gardens are suffering!

Leave a Reply

